Tuesday, Aug 8 2017

8 Aug

Just home from AA meeting and now settled in for my guilty pleasure show of Dance Moms. I cannot believe that I have watched this show for like 7 years. I really like watching the dancing. I think I wish I would have taken dance classes. It is so boring to go to dances and Denny and I sit there looking like a couple of doe doe birds. One can’t do everything even though I do try.
Lots of stuff going on. Some of you may know this but we are in the process of selling the RV park. So far everything is on schedule to close on December 7. We have also bought a home here in La Veta. For those of you who visited us when we lived here before, we are now just around the bend from there. We have 360 degree view of the mountains. I will try to take some photos this weekend. So….on top of working Denny has been making some repairs and we can now talk about new owners coming in next year to our campers. It is rather bittersweet. We have made friends with many of our customers but I think we can stay in touch. I definitely need to make some new business cards to be passing out.
Now for my next news. I am desperately trying to get into Manicure/Nail Tech school in Pueblo. I actually have a job, a salon and clientale for next summer. I will know Monday if I can get into the program so trying to stay calm about it until then. If it doesn’t work out, then I’m going to go online with my sewing/embroidery business. We shall see!!
Tomorrow Jessica and her family will be coming in with her family for a couple of days of dirt biking. I hope the rain holds off some so everything won’t be so slippery. The monsoons have been nice but it definitely cuts into afternoon outings for the campers. I have never seen big trees grow so much. The limbs just keep getting bigger and bigger and hanging lower to the ground.
Our friends Jerry and Deb are coming in Saturday from Illinois to hang out for a few days and then on Tuesday we’ll all go to Denver to play in the annual Swinging for AIDS golf tournament. It will be fun to see them but since Dale and Terry are gone we won’t be able to do much running around but we hope to golf and go to Alys for dinner on Sunday night.I have a new golf swing that is really making my shots much better. It’s called the “Vicky Tit Squeeze” swing. Deb’s friend used to swing that way and since she has passed away we will honor her by naming the swing after her. :))
Tomorrow will be a fun day. My friend Karen and I are going to a Batik class. I plan on doing a Kolam which is an Indian design. Can’t wait to do it.
I am making these placemats for a silent auction and no have orders for 14 more. I am on a desperate hunt to find the fabric since I need lots of yards. I have spent hours online searching for it and have only come up with 1 1/2 yards. Yikes.


I am loving our perennial garden. It has been so rainy that it has flourished. I must go outside and actually sketch it out and do a painting!! I must!!
Business has been superb and still pretty busy. We still have full weekends but not so much during the week. I had a mother/daughter from France in last night who were tent camping around the country! It has been amazing to have campers from all over the world in these last five years. My shop is pretty busy. The new favorites are my colorful tee towels and hand towels and of course the bowl holders. I just ordered some sweatshirts as it is beginning to cool off and it will be time to have some of those embroidered.
I think that is it for now. Have missed writing. I also need to print out all of my posts beginning in 2011 I think. One of the things to do before we move. I also printed out a list of 116 things to throw away. That might help with my sorting.
Peace everyone

One Response to “Tuesday, Aug 8 2017”

  1. Deb Lancaster 08/09/2017 at 8:52 pm #

    You have a million things on your plate!! We are so excited to see you guys and all of the beauty that you enjoy in La Veta. Last night I told some other girlfriends at golf about your story regarding the tit squeeze shot named after Vicky. They laughed and started trying it. It worked pretty good for one of the girls. I love the placemats. See you Saturday.

Leave a Reply

