John

26 Mar

IMG_2744Who knew when I came to Springfield, MO on March 8 that my brother would pass away 2 weeks later. Very surreal at this moment,  isn’t everything surreal at 2:30 in the morning.

The day started out nicely. Yesterday John was transported to a hospice facility in Bentonville, AR called Circle of Life. They had been visiting John while in Holiday Island. It was time to get him set up in the comforts of a hospice setting. After he arrived, it took awhile to get him settled and comfortable. The staff was great getting him the right meds so he wasn’t squirmy. While I stayed with him at night in Holiday Island, I did a lot of CNA duties: placing pillows, moving him in bed, breathing treatments, fluids, feeding him. So……last night the CNA’s came in every 4 hours and repositioned him. They kept him dry because he was perspiring so much. I could push the button and someone was there to help. Jolene and I spent the night in the room with him. This afternoon my nephew John and his family came by for a visit. They all said hi to John but he was unresponsive. We hung out in the main area and played cards while Jolene rested in the room with John. Around 4 pm it was just John and I in the room. About 6 I noticed his breathing was getting quicker. I could feel and see a huge change in him in a few minutes. We called for the nurse. She checked him and said this is normal. I asked her if it was imminent. She said no but asked the aides to come in and change his bedding once again because of his sweating. We came back in the room after 5 minutes and they had the bed more upright and I could see that John had his eyes wide open looking at something “out there”. I hope he was seeing Dad and Julie and they welcomed him into their arms. I knew it was happening. I pulled a chair over and held his hand, talked to him and listened as his breathing changed. It happened so fast and then he was no longer in pain.

It was exactly the right time. Bob had just arrived and taken Jolene to get checked into hotel, my nephew John said he had a feeling that he just needed to stay with me, Judy was with my Mom. John knew it was the right time to go. Wow.

“Then the blind people will see again, and the deaf will hear. Crippled people will jump like deer, and those who can’t talk now will shout for joy” Isaiah 35:5.6  I believe John will be relieved of his disabilities and be whole and healthy in heaven. I’m not a knowledgeable bible person, but we were talking earlier this week about some passage regarding those who are disabled and what happens when they enter heaven. I love this passage.

I’m going to try and go to sleep. No need to rush around tomorrow so I may just stay in bed all day. Arrangements will be made on Monday. I wish Denny and my puppies were here. I’ll hold on to Jumper the stuffed dog. I bought him when John was first in the hospital and Jumper pretty much was in John’s bed the whole time.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for the kind notes and thoughts from so many friends from all over the world. It really helps when you are somewhere away from friends.

 

9 Responses to “John”

  1. Carl 03/26/2017 at 3:53 am #

    Very sorry J. As you said, I believe you can now look forward to seeing John whole in heaven.

  2. Mary Crumpton 03/26/2017 at 5:02 am #

    Jay, sadness overwhelmes my heart as I learn of your tremendous loss. My thoughts and prayers will be extended to you, your Mother, Sister and family in these days ahead. From the Bible we also have the words of Jesus saying to you, Jay, “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.” John 14:27

    Jesus gives this gift of peace of mind and heart because He wants us to have a solid relationship His Father. This can be yours today.

    Love to you, Jay. – – Mary

  3. Jackie 03/26/2017 at 7:32 am #

    Jay, I am so sorry for you and your family’s loss. What a mighty blessing that John was surrounded by loved ones as he took leave. May the Creator bless you and yours.

  4. Emily 03/26/2017 at 8:38 am #

    Jay, I am so sorry for the loss of your brother. Losing a sibling is so very hard. Reading your post I know John was glad you were there with him and it will give you comfort too. Our prayers to you and your family.

    Emily and Ron

  5. Mike 03/26/2017 at 9:56 am #

    So sorry for your loss Jay!!

  6. Judi Mahaley 03/26/2017 at 10:13 am #

    So sad for you and your family. It was nice that John had such a loving family to support him during his difficult and painful journey. My prayers are for peace, warmth in your hearts, and comfort for you and your family, Jay.

  7. Sandy 03/26/2017 at 10:19 am #

    ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

  8. Deb Lancaster 03/26/2017 at 3:37 pm #

    You sweet sweet person. Im so glad you were with John when he crossed over to see our precious JESUS. I love those verses in Isaiah and believe every word. John is pain free and whole. I pray for you and your family that the sorrow of losing him will lighten each day and that joy will replace it as you remember you will see him again. Love you girlfriend.

  9. Bob K 03/28/2017 at 4:02 pm #

    J
    So sorry for your loss. Those were wonderful pieces you wrote about your brother and it is easy to tell you loved him very much.

Leave a Reply

