Gateway in Maduri India

13 Nov

Up and ready for new day in Indaia. Today we travel back to Mumbai for one more night and then a day and a half of travel back. Some of you may be thinking “why such long trip back to US”?  That’s how we received such great business class rate. $2200 round trip for this adventure.

Now I will catch you up about the Nammakal trip.

We arrived in Nammakal by way of Chennai and Maduri At 1 pm on Friday. Dr Samuels and driver Kartic picked us up in Maduri for the 3 hrs drive. The scenery is so greener and not as cluttered. We had many fun conversations with Sam during the drive and he filled us in on latest news in Namakkal.  Of course the ladies needed a “toilet” stop.  No this is adventure to find a suitable one.  We both said we are ok with holes in the ground!  He decides to go to hotel and use a room.  So…. we get the key to go to a room and Sam says I will not go with you so it doesn’t look suspicious!!!! Judi and I are laughing all the way to the room. We get to the room and we open the door and there is a young man in there. He stands right up and we say “oh we are here to use the bathroom”.  He is like “hello ladies” and explains he is manager of hotel etc. We do our duties and go back downstairs and Sam decides he’ll go up.  I say you are in for a surprise! OMG. He comes down and is laughing and when he saw the young man he said”what the h are you doing in here!!”  Sam was upset that the young man did not leave the room when we were using the loo and when we all left the hotel I’m still not sure if they thought there was a quickie involved!!

Finally we are in Namakkal and the first stop was the CARE Center where it all started for me 8 years ago. There were beautiful kolums which I LOVE and leis of roses and chrysanthemums. We visited with staff and then it was time to go see Gomathi and Murugans home which we helped build.  The house was wonderful with electricity, water and gas stove inside. The village people were all coming by and some remembered me from before as I them.  Last stop was the Hotel Nala. They too welcomed us with leis of flowers and Judi and I were feeling quite Royal. Saturday was full day of driving and visiting the Kolli Hills clinic in the mountains.  Many monkeys were frollicking as we drove through the 70 hairpin turns.  Oh…..the clinic was wonderful. Located just outside a poor village, mothers and their babies and small children greeted us.  Another lei of flowers and a bouquet of flowers. We are overwhelmed by the kindness of this area of India.  We played with the children and passed out nutrition packets. We said our good byes and headed down the mountain where we had a picnic, took photos of wild poinsettias and monkeys.  We visited with 2 more families-one an 18 yr old girl who is paralyzed.  Very sad situation due to no facilities to really accomadate her handicap. Will she foreverp

 

just live life on the this straw bed?  What she did have was the cutest ornery smile! (I can’t wait to show photos, stupid IPAD)  Last stop was the family of grandmother, daughter and granddaughter infected.  I met them last time and the 10 yr old was then 2 and in the hospital with an injury.   It was good to see her and to visit. Last night at Nala Hotel and our favorite meal of garlic chicken and rice.

Uneventful trip to Maduri and final chats with Sam about new needs for Nammakal.  Thankfully he made arrangements for doctor in Maduri to see my shoulder.  A driver and a young man took me to the hospital. Immediately I was taken go X-ray.  (There is a room full of patients) Next I sit with Doctor and he says bone is fine, must be tendon. Next I go to physical therapy for electrode and heat therapy. Then back to doctor and he gives me directions and Meds.  I pay 1394 rupees which equals about $22 dollars. I’m accompanied back to hotel where I pretty much sleep through night.  Yes I did receive preferential treatment, but I could see everyone in waiting was cared for and when you were with the doctor, other patients were in there with me and was consulting with each of us.  Very streamlined.

Now we are arranging driver to airport and the possibility of MRI tonight because of much lower cost.

The adventure continues. Namaste

Leave a Reply

