Let’s talk medical care

19 May

Before I go into what is happening now, I’m going to preface it something else I have going on.

When someone would mention their dislike of ObamaCare, I would always say “Whoa, I have insurance because of ObamaCare”.  Even if I would have been able to have insurance because of pre existing circumstances, my insurance would have been high with a high deductible.  Just wanted to get that out of the way.

When my friend Judy was here helping us get the books and sales part of the business organized, I decided to add up my medical bills that I had paid out of pocket last year. I was SHOCKED  at the amount. I pay my bills every month, so there is a $400 bill here, a $1200 bill there. I did have insurance last year but nothing I had done in the La Veta area was never covered because I was out of network so I would do major procedures in Topeka. I had to have 2 endoscopies to clear up my esophagus and the 2nd one because I had some irregular cells due to Barrets esophagus.  I also had to have 2 Cat scans and 1 MRI because of back issues. In the late summer I had a “huge arthritic episode of my right hip” and had to have an injection in my hip plus numerous doctor appts so I could have tests set up and for medication. Okay, enough background.  My totally out of pocket was over $13,000!!!!!!!!! Plus my $450.00 premium.  Whoa Nelly, (isn’t that nicer than my usual “what the fuck!!”) I still have one more $500 bill to finish out my 2015 medical bills. The billing system in our area is horrific and when you receive your bill you have absolutely what it was for.(Supposedly they are once again getting a new billing system).

In April I went in for my physical with my little list of issues. Another endoscopy is needed along with the rest of my stomach problems. As I thought about my out of pocket last year I decided to get really aggressive regarding my stomach. I have been seriously addressing the fiber and probiotic and drinking more fiber remedy. Tummy is better. So….I’m eliminating the tummy doctor for now. I now have a physical bill, a doctor bill plus 2 injections bill from today. Speaking of today, it was horrific. Everything was going really nice. Little chores done, washed the kitchen window over the kitchen sink, laundry, town hall to see about having our road graded before Memorial Day. Then I took my 2 morning pills and choked on the water which made me cough which made my back go into such a spasm that I fell to my knees. I had to crawl through the living room and out the front door to get Denny. After calling my massage therapist to come by, and taking some meds and calming down, I was luckily able to get into the doctor. Before the doctor I could barely lift my legs or my arms or move or get out of the chair. After a toradol and steroid injection, more meds and resting, I feel better. I can’t believe how much I cried from the pain.  I’ve already heard lots of “backs going out” stories.  Wish mine was more exciting but I was surprised how common it is from a cough or a sneeze.

A financial lesson learned, another weird injury for my body. I still somewhat heal up but I have a few friends with MS and Parkinson’s. Also have 2 friends going through very serious cancer procedures.  Blessings for them.. aaaaaaaaaaj

 

 

Leave a Reply

