Still rambling

14 May

I’ve been blogging in my head all day.  I’ll think about something and then I think I have to write about that, etc. etc.

First off, we just returned home from Colorado Springs. We attended the Pikes Peaks Art Council Art Show. This is where my peacock painting is hanging. It was packed, wonderful food, beautiful art works and Mike and Julie met up with us there. After the show we saw Mike and Julie’s new home and loved it. While we drove there we followed the highway that is next to the Garden of the Gods.  I have not seen them for years, like I was 10. I forgot how stunning that area is and the surrounding mountains. May have to do a day trip there. Photo is of Jan, Carol-my art instructor and friend, and I.

art show

This morning I was fussing with this hairdo and I had a funny thought. If this hair thing is driving me crazy why do I even bother wearing a wig??? Because I don’t want to run around with no hair. I do read articles of people with alopecia who go au natural, but I just don’t go there. Maybe I could have my head tattooed or something. I don’t want to look like I am sick or going through chemo and for it to be the topic of conversation.  When I was growing up, I think I was described as “that bald headed girl” and I don’t want to be described as “that bald headed ol’ lady”. Soooo, I’m going to fuss with this hairpiece that has hair that moves and I’m actually thinking of going longer so I can do a ponytail or braid. I love the older lady look of a braid.  We’ll see!!

I’m really being patient about planting flowers. It was beautiful and warm today, but it is still pretty chilly at night and Denny really thinks we will get one more snow. Have lots of fun ideas for flowers and herbs and veggies.

Put up my hummingbird feeder and actually will feed the birds this summer. Last year the hummingbirds went to everyone’s feeders except mine. We have a wonderful variety of colorful birds.

We do have a trap out to try and catch a skunk. He is hanging around our courtyard and causing some stinky problems.

I have written about this before. I have this friend who doesn’t talk to me any more. I really, really don’t know why and I have fretted about it for years. In the last 2 weeks I have heard his name and I can’t believe how my heart and stomach reacts. I will be digging into my “Untethered Soul” to once again get this nagging pain out of me. Why does this person matter to me? Why am I sad that we are not friends? It’s like that day when everyone compliments you on something and then you hear 1 negative comment and that becomes your new truth. Maybe it’s the not knowing what happened. How come I don’t get to apologize if I did something wrong?  How come I can just not care at this point in my life?  I don’t have the answer and maybe I never will.

Speaking of the Untethered Soul. I had to buy a new book today because I can’t find my other one. I am confessing something that my niece may see. I am missing a tub or box full of fabric, an iron, my book. We have looked everywhere around here. I have called my friend Kathy in Texas to check out our place in Brownsville. No fabric. Tomorrow, our winter neighbor is going to cut the lock off the shed we used and look for the missing tub. If it is found, he will drive it up in another friends’ fifth wheel and then my friend will mail me the fabric. Let’s hope this will all happen because the fabric involved is for my niece’s daughters tee shirt quilt. I’m so missing my cordless iron too. I’ll let you know how this plays out.

Still in a doomsday mode somewhat. 2 friends with scary cancers. So hope for the best for them. Did catch on Parker Loves Life which is about a little girl with DIPG cancer which is incurable at this point. She has made one visit to Germany for immunatherapy. Tonight she was actually performig in a dance show!! She is returning to Germany this month for another treatment. Wow. Wouldn’t this be wonderful if this would be a cure?  It’s a dreadful childhood cancer.

Looking forward to Sunday. Carol is coming down to teach 2 days of painting. I hope to paint all day on Sunday. Have pinned 2 quilts and will quilt them myself this weekend. Nice little quilts, 1 for Yuki, 1 for cabin bed.

Dale and Denny have been so busy sprucing up picnic tables, planting grass in a few sites, mowing, painting. Still have a lot of work on our green house.

Black eye is almost gone. I think I have discovered the original injury and I do believe it is a bite. I have a really tender spot on the soft part of my eyelid. Tummy issues a little better. Have cut way back on sugar and having cramps all over the place. Very weird.Water, water, water.

Actually felt like an rv park today. 3 drop ins plus several reservations including the cabin. Happy to have some weeklies and a full Memorial weekend. I wish you could feel the energy of the area. It’s wonderful and positive.

Played bridge last night with Ginny, Sandy and Tracy. We have had so much fun this month playing. We are kind of a teaching group and we can’t seem to remember what we have learned when we meet again. Thank goodness Tracy is patient with us. Also, big news, I have heard about Mahjong players in Cuchara. Hope to contact them this weekend. I really miss playing.

Okay, I think that is it.

Peace everyone.

 

 

Leave a Reply

