Day 2 of untethered

3 Jan

Little did I know that some people don’t have a roommate in their head and now I wonder if I have scared everyone from reading my blog because they think I am “caaaraaazy”. I was trying to describe what I was doing to Mitzi and she even looked at me strangely.
Okay, so day one of my roommate was rather uneventful until she tried to sabotage my day. I was happy, printing out peacock notecards and getting ready for a walk and from the depths came this reminder of something that I have needed to do for a couple of years. It is something that I feel guilt for not doing yet. But….why did it have to come up as I was printing peacock notecards. Verrry interesting. I just told her that she wasn’t going to ruin my day with negative thoughts and off I went on a long walk.
My mind runs all the time. I see a bird and I think “I must paint that”, I see the mountains with snow and I think “I must do a quilt of that”, I must make this for the shop, I must do that, all the time. During our busy summer season, I have to constantly tell myself to “FOCUS FOCUS”. Anti-depressants do help this. Back in the day, before I was 42, it was much worse. My mania was off the charts at time. I like to be manic for the energy and creativity it gives me, but I’m glad that it doesn’t become destructive as it used to be.
Luckily I have a very patient and loving Denny Poo who doesn’t berate me but encourages my projects. He has been through candle making phases, painting phases, ceramic phases, weaving phases, quilting phases, writing phases, camera phases, abstract phases, and hook rug phases. The most nervous he was about a new undertaking was when he walked into my first Ricky Tims quilt retreat. I told him “not to worry, I just wanted to do this retreat” and the rest is history.
I just finished my Dog Poop story for the paper. If you would like to read it, see below.
Let’s talk dog poop
Off for a walk and lunch at Mitzi’s.

3 Responses to “Day 2 of untethered”

  1. Ruth 01/03/2016 at 1:36 pm #

    I really commend you on your “dog poo ” story. There is no reason for people to not pick up after their dogs; especially in public places. Hopefully this will open the eyes of those quilty of letting this happen. It only takes a couple of seconds to pick up. Newspaper wrappers also work quite well. While Winnie the Pooh is very cute; dog poo outside of your own yard is not. Kudos to you and Mitzi for starting (hopefully) a new trend 🙂

  2. Ruth 01/03/2016 at 1:39 pm #

    Guilty… not quilty lol

  3. Richard Wood 01/03/2016 at 5:55 pm #

    I haven’t a roommate in my head. But I used to have this giant rabbit that would follow me around. Very embarrassing–I was the only one who could see it.

Leave a Reply

