Back home for awhile

9 Dec

We made it home safely last night. We had been to Arkansas, Topeka, Mexico, Topeka, Arkansas, Topeka and now home since November 6.
It always takes me a day or 2 to regroup but did accomplish a few things today. I did lay in bed until 10 which felt great. Then I took a long walk. We started cleaning out some closets that we haven’t touched since we moved here 3 years ago. I feel like we will actually be a little more organized before we open back up this summer. I would really like to have our catch all room an actual useful room. All 3 of our extra bedrooms need to be sheetrocked and painted. They have that mobile home type wall coverings.
Bad news when we arrived home was that our big 68″ tv was on the fritz!!! We MUST remember to unplug all of our tv’s, printers, etc when we leave. Apparently a power surge knocked it out. Big bummer.
Not feeling too Christmassy yet. We don’t put up any decorations but I am printing out our photo/Christmas cards. I have this really old computer and printer that does the best job of printing photos and my notecards. It takes forever to get it to open programs, etc. but the results are worth it.
Went to my orthopedic doctor on Monday. I go to Dr. Wallace in Topeka who has done shoulder, knee and broken wrist surgeries on me over the years. I haven’t seen him for years but he remembered me and was wondering what happened to my red hair!! Diagnosis is on my hip that I do have some arthritis in the right hip and the left hip is a ittle funky but nothing major. He still thinks I may have a back issue. Next step is a cortisone shot on Dec. 29. If that takes the pain away then we’ll know it is a hip issue. If not, then we’ll deal with an orthopedic back doctor. I am now going to walk, exercise, and strengthen my core since there really isn’t anything that should keep from doing what I enjoy.
I finished 40 bowl holders last week and now think I don’t have to make any of those for quite awhile. I have a group in Texas that would like to order my jackets, pillows, shirts embroidered, etc. Need to get an order sheet designed with prices. They love that “Home is Where you Park It” logo. I could have a busy early spring.
First, I’m going to do some fun and creative projects, starting tomorrow. I also took a class on my serger and am excited to really put that machine to use.
Hope to drive to Colorado City tomorrow or Friday to see my friend who has terminal melanoma cancer. I’m not sure if it is a rare type but she has melanoma’s all over inside her body. We have been friends for a couple of years. She and her husband camped with us several times. They have dual sports and were very active. We became friends quickly and I hate that such a vibrant woman has this awful disease.
We must treasure each day that we have before something might show up that detours our life.
I enjoyed being with Mom last week. We had some fun conversations and she actually took some walks. One day when she actually went outside for a few minutes, turned into quite an event. There are many alzheimer patients and some of them try to escape. Denny was trying to block this one lady while I was trying to get Mom out the door. She was going to knock him down!!! Then when we were coming back in, she was there again and we had to get 2 others to get her out of the way. This lady thinks she is in her Mom’s house. I wonder if the Alzheimer patients are scared or if they really don’t know so they aren’t scared??
I’ve been contacted personally from a couple of high school classmates this week. One guy wants to come camp with us this summer and another girlfriend contacted me through FB. It’s fun reconnecting through FB. 2016 is our 45th High School Reunion year. I haven’t been since the 20th!! Where does the time go.
Time to print some more cards.

One Response to “Back home for awhile”

  1. Emily 12/10/2015 at 9:13 pm #

    Ron and I had a laugh picturing Denny blocking the door.

Leave a Reply

