The beginning of our busy part of the season

21 May

We are approaching Memorial Day and as of now we are 95% full. I have received the first cancellation due to crappy weather. We cannot complain about moisture but…..it would be nice to have some sunshine. I want the campers to see the beautiful Spanish Peaks which are packed with snow. At this rate we could have snow on them until late June. It would also be nice for it to dry out because the road coming down to the park is a mess as are all of the roads in La Veta. Dirt roads are quaint but a nightmare with this much rain and snow. Hopefully we have some hearty campers coming in this weekend!!
Enough of the weather. Yesterday Sandy, Ginny and I drove west of Alamosa and bought some herbs at Catlins. What a fabulous greenhouse. Thousands of flowers and plants. The coolest thing I bought was a potato planter. It’s a bucket contraption that you turn upside down and plant the potato seeds and in 8 weeks I’ll have taters. Excited to see how the greenhouse works for us. It definitely is warmer in there even without the sun.
My first retreat has received several participants. I think I will have 10 for the applique class. I’m excited to finally get that moose put together!!. It will begin May 29.
My emotions are feeling better. The increase in medication has definitely made my mind not as negative.
Justin’s dad ordered the stone for his gravesite. It finally was finished and placed on the site. It’s beautiful and made Billie feel better. She hated having it unmarked.
justin stone
I’m counting down the days when they arrive on June 7th. They are taking the train which the kids really enjoy. I’m trying to think of some things to do but when they were here before the really like hanging around the park.
Time to put some packets together and eat some pancakes. Denny makes us a yummy breakfast every morning. The puppies love pancake morning because they always get some.

One Response to “The beginning of our busy part of the season”

  1. City Limits, aka Dick Wood. 05/21/2015 at 10:13 am #

    Jaybird, I have Billie in my prayers nightly. Ten Mile, aka City Limits

Leave a Reply

