New Years Eve 2014

31 Dec

FullSizeRender

IMG_2303 (1)

IMG_2299

I was going to go to Lake Wabaunsee tonight to celebrate with friends and enter the WII bowling tournament, but instead I am sitting in the recliner with 2 heavy blankies on me. I have had the chills since noon today. Billie and the kids are gone all night for a sleepover with their friends Scott and Sherry. I think that is a good plan because she had a sad day today. She’s sad that she isn’t celebrating the New Year with Justin and sad that I am leaving soon.
I had the kids all day and they were so good. I actually fell asleep in the recliner for 2 hours and didn’t hear one fight. I ordered a new hairdo and picked it up this morning. The kids don’t quite know what to think about Grandma Birdies alopecia. Elliott came and looked at me and said “your hair isn’t stuck on your head”.
Denny and Larry made it safely to Austin tonight. They are enthralled with Chris’s wonderful home. Chris graciously is letting them stay there even though he is in Park City skiing.
I feel like I should be doing something, laundry or cleaning but it feels nice to be able to sit and relax. Tomorrow we are taking down the Christmas decorations and working in the basement. We’re going to try and make it fun for the kids to go down there and play. Hope to paint also.
It’s our 17th anniversary today plus 2 more years so 19 all together. He sent me the most beautiful bouquet of 17 roses, all different colors. Photo above. It’s been a great marriage and we are totally in love still and have a great new life going on with our rv park venture. He has been so wonderful to my family and all he is willing to do to help. He finished painting Billie’s bedroom yesterday and it so beautiful. I think I’m going to use the same color in our bedroom in La Veta. It’s Sherwin Williams Colorburst. See photo. The photo doesn’t do it justice because it’s a deeper blue. We are now done with all the painting except for a little touch up.
A look back at our year:
January I was iced in twice in Holiday Island, AR. I was there to be with my Mom who was recovering from her heart attack in October.
February, I was able to join Denny in Llano, TX and play some golf, make some new friends, and do some sewing. We came back in time to celebrate my Mom’s 94th birthday.
March, still in Arkansas for a couple of weeks and then we headed back to Colorado to begin getting the park ready to open.
April, sewing many things to have my shop full of products to sell. At the end of the month, Nancy, Ginny and I traveled to Florida to stay with Judy for a couple of days. Then we all drove to Miami and caught a flight to Cuba where we spent a week touring.
May, our friend Dale arrived and spent the entire season with us. He was a great help and was popular with the campers. We hustled to remodel the cabin because we were able to rent it from June-September.
June-August, we had a great summer and our business increased significantly. Mary arrived and helped us for several weeks.
September, we had our first quilt retreat which was a success.
October, we hosted an art retreat which was also a success.
Looking forward to another year. I will try hard not to worry about Billie and the kids. She will be fine but I don’t want her to be overwhelmed.
I have new ideas for some items in the shop. Casserole covers, bowl holders, napkins, sweatshirts with new designs on them and maybe some ceramics if I get my kiln going.
Received many nice comments on FB about our anniversary. I know I sound like a broken record but we are constantly blessed with our many friendships that we have made over the years. We are both very sad about a friend who received bad news today regarding his cancer. Denny was able to talk to him last Sunday. With the passing away of 2 young men, Justin and our dear friend Matt, the year has been full of sadness and many tears. Billie has also experienced the love of her friends and family who have been over the top generous and helpful. Tuesday was a treat from her friend Desiree who treated us to a KU basketball game and we sat in the VIP section, 7 rows back right behind the team. It was great fun and a real surprise to the boys. We didn’t tell them ahead of time because we didn’t want to tell Elliott and have her be mad that she wasn’t going. I have also discovered that I can be a helpful Grandma. I have always felt a little neglectful in that respect, but now I know I can do it. Pretty much love being Grandma Birdie.
Not sure what is in store for the New Year. I hope our travel plans are going to happen. Not traveling in the motorhome but the jeep this year. We’ll put on a lot of miles if it all falls into place.
The rv park is already booked for monthlies and seasonals. I have 13 groups already booked plus 2 quilt retreats and an art retreat. This season looks very promising. I’m very excited about having the green house and growing some veggies.
Thank you all for your support of Denny and I during these last couple of months. Thank also for reading my blog. I received my statistics the other day and I have had over 9,600 views this year. I hope to print out the last couple of years when I get home. I have notebooks full of my blogs which began May 2006 with a trip to Alaska!!
Happy New Year, remember to cherish each moment because life can change in 10 minutes.

4 Responses to “New Years Eve 2014”

  1. City Limits 12/31/2014 at 10:42 pm #

    Happy New Year to you and yours. City Limits aka Ten Mile

  2. kit Phillips 12/31/2014 at 11:22 pm #

    Happy 17 wedding bliss! You and Denny are such cute couple and fun to be around. Hope the new year brings you more happy memorable events to your lives. Enjoy the rest of your winter vacation!

  3. Sherry 01/01/2015 at 8:47 am #

    Love reading your blog. Hope you are not getting sick. You said you had chills and let’s hope those chills are from the frigid temps outside. As you guys begin your travels, we’d love to have you swing by. Really like the new hair style. Happy New Year. Hugs to you!!

  4. Kathy 01/01/2015 at 1:06 pm #

    Wishing you a wonderful 2015. You’ve had more than your share of sadness, so praying for a lot less sad days in the coming year. Hugs to you and Denny (and Meeko and Jumper)!

Leave a Reply

