Esophagus stuff

17 Dec

I had another day of an extremely sore throat after the endoscopy. Just didn’t feel too great. This afternoon the doctor called which kind of scared me. He had the results of the biopsies for me. Turns out I have 3 things. I have Barretts Esophagus, Mild Dysplasia, Eosinophilic Esophagitis. For those of you who have been around me the last couple of years while I’m eating will be relieved that a lot of my burping, choking and coughing should be getting better. (I’ll never forget Margie telling me on our trip to Paris, that I didn’t need to keep saying “excuse me” after I burped a million times a day. I can’t believe how annoying I sounded)
My treatment for these problems is Prilosec twice a day and now I will use an inhaler twice a day for 3 months. The Eosinophilic Esophagitis can be caused by allergies, whether they be food or environmental.
Bottom line is I am so glad to be getting a handle on this issue. Barretts can get pretty scary and turn into cancer if it goes untreated.
I’m pretty foggy today not having caffeine. I did drink my last Pepsi that was in the refrigerator and now will go Pepsi and Ice tea free. I know I won’t feel to with it for a few days then it will be great. I generally feel really good when I don’t drink caffeine all day.
Denny will be on his way tomorrow. Hopefully the weather doesn’t interfere with his travels. It is supposed to snow tonight and may be slippery. It’s going to get crazy in the Blenden household because school is out Friday until January 6!! Hopefully they be at the sitters a couple of days because we really want to finish the projects before January 6. Also, the puppies will be staying with us for 4 days which will make Sophie and Easton crazy.
That’s it for now.

One Response to “Esophagus stuff”

  1. Sandy B 12/17/2014 at 6:11 pm #

    Thinking of you, J — Since I was diagnosed with NERD in 2006 (yes, really — stands for non-erosive reflux disorder) I sleep propped up and no longer eat citrus or other acidic things. They told me coffee, tea and chocolate also had to go, but, well, I can only accept so much, right? My symptoms were choking in the night and difficulty swallowing, so I was glad to find out it wasn’t something more scary and to be able to manage symptoms with lifestyle changes… My dad died of esophageal cancer and my aunt (his sister) has Barretts, so I pay attention…

Leave a Reply

