Some Normalcy

7 Dec

Billie will go back to work tomorrow after 5 weeks. I think she is ready. Life has a semblance of normalcy right now. Christmas tree is up and Bob the Elf is keeping an eye on the kids. Kyler loves Christmas, the elf, and Santa Claus. The kids had a busy weekend of hockey and ballet rehearsals. Can’t wait to see Elliott in the Nutcracker as an angel.
Denny is back in town and has been swamped with projects around the house. The big one was installing the french doors on Billie’s bedroom. Now she can hopefully have a little privacy when needed. She also picked out the paint for the kitchen and her bedroom and we’ll get that done in the next 2 weeks. Larry helped Denny with the French doors and Torrie helped me in the basement today. I think by next weekend we will be able to begin painting down there. Very excited about that.
Denny and I drove to Lake Wabaunsee for the Christmas home tour. It was great fun seeing our friends out there and the homes were beautiful.
Busy week ahead. Denny and I will work on house Monday and Tuesday. He will head back to Colorado on Wednesday. Thursday I’m going to meet at Sherry’s in Tonganoxie and with a few other friends we are going to assembly line bowl holders. I hope to maybe get 20 done or almost done. Next Sunday Billie and I will head to Kansas City to see the Kansas City Ballet’s performance of the Nutcracker. That’s a gift from Mike and Cathy. We both love the Nutcracker.
My fingernails are finally growing out after biting them all off a couple of weeks ago. I used to be a horrible nail biter. I forgot how painful it is and how tender my finger tips would be. Now I”m dealing with very painful hang nails. I’m trying to think of an invention to be able to keep my fingertips covered in lotion and then have something to cover them with to let them heal. Maybe a bunch of rubber tips.
The kids will go to their first counseling appointment this week. They will each spend an hour with a therapist by themselves. I hope they will be able to share their thoughts and can comforted by getting some insights.
I know my stay is coming to an end in a couple of weeks. I am so happy I was able to spend this time with Billie. I really feel like I was a Grandma. I’ve always struggled being a hands on Grandma and now I know that I can do it.
Billie has good kids who have their moments. They each have own personality. I know Daddy would be proud of them and how they are handling life without him. Very resilient. Billie is adapting to being a single mom. It’s not a path she would have taken but she knows what it will entail.
I’m continuing on with my project for the homeless who sleep outside. We have several blankets, some good coats, hats, gloves and I think I will put in some big plastic bags for wet days. I also might purchase some cigarettes. Since no one has returned my calls or emails, I am going to just make up the bags and take them to the Rescue Mission.
That’s it for now. Think I’ll downstairs and return to my Friday Night Lights Netflix show. I’m really liking that Netflix.

Leave a Reply

