The love that happens after a tragedy

9 Nov

batik flower
I just talked to Billie. She said 20 of her friends came to her house while she was gone today and raked all of her leaves, fixed the fence, and cleaned out her gutters. She has big trees so there was a lot of raking to do.
Their friends have taken care of the kids, fixed meals, held her why she cried, cleaned her house, made all the food for the buffet after the funeral. It is so overwhelmingly awesome.
Then there was some other kind of love and forgiveness on my part that happened. Many of you know I am on my 3rd marriage. I sometimes haven’t said kind things about my first 2 husbands. Last Saturday morning, the first visitor Billie had was my 2nd husband Joe. He brought food and paper products. He hugged her and also gave her a few tips regarding paperwork since he had just lost his mother. My heart melted. He was so kind, sweet and sincere, it wiped away years of anger toward him. Later that afternoon, my first husband called to talk to Billie. His name is Bill, hence the name of Billie Jay. Anyway, he was soooooo sweet on the phone and again my heart melted. Once again years of anger and resentment just went away. Another visitor on Saturday was my KC. Many of you know we have had a difficult relationship for years. I couldn’t believe the love he gave to his sister. The 3 of us were able to spend some time together alone. It was very special. I think KC and I have moved ahead. I saw so much maturity this week. It was wonderful. Both Joe and Bill were at the funeral, plus Joe’s sisters and Bill’s wife and 3 girls. Wow. Lots of healing that needed to be done since 1977.
A very cool thing happened on Saturday that I didn’t appreciate until later. I arrived at Billie’s on Saturday afternoon and Justin’s brother Geoff was so excited about a buck jumping a fence a coming into his yard! I didn’t pay much attention because in Colorado we have bucks all over the place. It was the next day that I realized that a buck in the middle of Topeka was very unusual. That same buck also went to Justin’s other brother, Bryan which about a mile away!! I am so sure that was Justin and what a powerful moment. It gives me goosebumps.
Elliott told me a couple of days ago that Daddy was in bed with her that night and was smiling at her. I will be curious how the kids will do these next few weeks. That’s why I want to be there for the holidays. Billie is a big holiday person and likes to decorate to the nines. I wonder if Grandma Birdie will have to put the outside lights up??? Yikes.
Have had a productive day gathering my sewing items and also paints. Also had a ton of laundry and trying to figure out what clothes to take. Our new plan is to leave really early Tuesday morning and arrive in Topeka that afternoon. Denny will take the train home and work on some projects here until after the 24th. Then he’ll come and stay awhile. His brain has been working hard on figuring out how to move the washer and dryer upstairs.
That’s it for now.

One Response to “The love that happens after a tragedy”

  1. kit Phillips 11/10/2014 at 12:02 am #

    So glad you were able to reflect on some of the postive things that happened during this week of sadness. Take care and hope you all have a great holiday season with all the trimmings.

Leave a Reply

