RIP Justin

8 Nov

photo 2 (5)

photo 1 (5)

We just arrived home after being in Topeka for a week. It seems unreal that it was just a week ago Friday that I received the call about my son-in-law Justin. I was in Pueblo with Mitzi and Ginny when Denny told me that Justin had passed away suddenly that afternoon. When I was able to get hold of Billie I couldn’t understand her through her sobs. I was an hour from La Veta and 10 hours from Topeka. Denny had already began preparations for us to leave Friday night so we could be there first thing Saturday morning. It’s hard to think when you have to leave for an emergency. I just threw some clothes in the suitcase and tossed make up and meds in a bag and we took off. It was about 1 am when we reached Oakley. Denny thought he would snooze a little bit. We parked the Jeep by the trucks. He got in the backseat and fought with Meeko over the blankie. I covered up in the front seat with Jumper in the drivers seat. First Meeko was barking so we got him to quiet down, then Jumper started licking and slurping. Finally Denny said, “I give up, I can’t sleep with Jumper slurping”. He moved to get up and he set off the alarm!!! Beep, beep beep. I’m sure we woke all the truckers up. Even though it was a short stop, it woke Denny up and he was able to drive on in to Topeka. He said he hasn’t done an all nighter for 30 years. Back in the day I remember doing it a lot.
I couldn’t wait to get to Billie. She was so distraught and sad. The weekend was busy with many friends and phone calls and people dropping off food, etc. Monday was the day we met at the funeral home and cemetery and finalized plans. That can be so overwhelming but we all made it through. Denny even took care of the boys for several hours. He was a huge help the entire week.
Wednesday night was the visitation. Oh my, there were so many friends and family that came to give their condolences. It was overwhelming. It meant so much to Justin’s brothers and his Dad and stepmom and our family too. Billies aunts and cousins came and so did her dad and stepdad. KC was very comforting and helpful too.
The funeral was packed, my sister sang, the pastor did a wonderful job, brother Geoff did the eulogy and was wonderful, there was a mile long procession to the graveside. Over 100 came back for the luncheon. Billies girlfriends made all the food for that. Wow. Justin being such a huge sports fan, everyone was asked to wear their favorite teams sweatshirts. The pallbearers all wore Royals World Series Hoodies. Justin would have loved that.
That evening friends and family came to the Ramada Inn and the little kids could all swim and the adults could visit and share stories. It was a nice way to end the day.
I have felt the last 2 days. There were so many heart wrenching moments during the week. Millions of tears. I didn’t know that I could cry nonstop for 2 hours at times. The kids had their very sad moments. Billie at times was inconsolable. But now, maybe I am just numb? Probably tired. I’ll spend Sunday packing up sewing machines, fabric, paints, clothes to take back to Topeka. I’ll stay with Billie through the holidays. Several of us are going to do some painting and repairs on the house. I want to help with breakfast and dinner and delivering kids to where they need to be. Denny will come a few days later to do some bigger projects. We hope to move her washer and dryer upstairs.
I know I am rambling. Just wanted to write for awhile.

3 Responses to “RIP Justin”

  1. Becky H. 11/08/2014 at 9:28 pm #

    My heart aches for you and your family. Your words this week have caused me to reflect on just how wonderful life is when it’s good, how painful it can be when it isn’t, and how easily and often it moves back and forth between happiness and sorrow. I wish you comfort and peace.

  2. Kathy 11/08/2014 at 10:33 pm #

    Bird and Denny. My heart breaks for you. I can’t begin to understand, but wanted you to know that I send my love. So glad that you can be with Billie and your grand kids thru the holidays. Blessings to Justin and each of you.

    Ps. I understand your not being able to nap with a dog slurping. It is nights like that when Bella gets threatened to be sent out at the next shih tau swap meet. Love ya.

  3. jmrussell0223 11/09/2014 at 8:57 am #

    J , I am so sorry for your loss and can not begin to imagine what you and Billie are going through. You are both in my prayers!

Leave a Reply

