En Route

25 Jul

I’m in the Salt Lake City airport waiting for the next leg of my trip to Medford, OR. I’m so surprised to see a smoking room!!
Feeling a little relieved to be away from the park for a couple of days. I feel I handle the day to day duties pretty well, but still not handling issues when they arise as we’ll as I’d like to. This week one of the monthly campers was very rude to me when I was trying to get a handle on seasonal and monthly reservations for next summer. I had in my Jbirdmire cowboy hat and stood my ground but it was still uncomfortable the next few days when I would see them. Yesterday he came into the office which I thought was an apology but instead I was told ” it was a personal affront to us when you said we couldn’t have that site in July”. A personal affront!!!!! F********** excuse me!!! What I think is strange is that was in the office when Denny was there but didn’t say that to him. I did tell the guy that there was no need for him to talk to me like that and I didn’t get all “” oh I’m so sorry, blah, blah, f******* blah”. Maybe there is some other way I should do seasonals. I also have to call another customer to tell him he can’t stay next year after all but I guess I’ll deal with that next week. I need to let my tummy calm down. Business is really good but I can’t let the whole park be a seasonal or monthly park. Okay, enuf whining.
Mary and Denny are holding down the fort. Of course, once again, I leave when we are full and with a 14 camper group which is a good size pancake feed.
Heading to my friend Lisa’s wedding in Medford Oregon. It will be interesting because I will be meeting Kim Novak!!! She is Lisa’s stepmother. The wedding is on their ranch. Can’t wait to see it.
A friend, Cristen stayed with us for 2 nights. She owns the quilt store in Springfield MO where I bought my sewing machines.
Speaking of sewing, we still sell out of bowl holders! Mary and I made several last night. The 2 of us can whip them out pretty fast. It’s been fun keeping track of the Birds Nest sales this year. It’s rather impressive. We have sold about 80 bags of ice which is also impressive. It takes 4 trays of ice to fill 1 bag so we spend a lot of time doing it.
Have finished 2 months of Zumba and still love it. I ordered a DVD for later be ause when school starts the classes will be at 6 am. That is a little too early for me. The balance and stretching exercise class at the park is going well. I’m doing it also. Can’t believe how bad my balance is but it is getting better. Try standing on 1 foot for a minute and see how you do.
Still hooked on Longmire.
Saw a really scary movie with Mitzi and Ginny. “Deliver Us from evil”. It was a 20 jumper and a 1 screamer. We love our scary movies!
Had my hands wiped at security in the airport. It tests if you have messed with explosives. They said it was a random check?? I don’t think I looked like a bomber.
Still battling an infection but think I’m getting a handle on it. On my 3rd round of meds. They tell me it is stress related!! It may be terminal if that is the case.
I was thinking, telling someone they can’t come to the park isn’t as bad as a doctor telling someone that someone didn’t make it!!
I’m done rambling but glad I was able to blog. I miss writing but I’m too tired at the end of the day. Almost 3 months under our belt.

One Response to “En Route”

  1. Richard Wood 07/25/2014 at 12:33 pm #

    jbird, Will Rogers once said he never met a man he didn’t like. To which some wit replied: “That’s because he was never in business for himself.”

Leave a Reply

