I definitely need to get out more

12 Mar

My life this month basically has consisted of the following: get up, eat, tidy up, go see mom, go to store, come home, sew. Day after day after day. Not that it has been bad, just redundant.
Last night about 6:30 I headed to the basement. Now let’s talk about basement. I don’t like them. I have lived in many houses with scary basements. Dirt floors, scary little rooms, dark and full of spider webs, etc. I have been very brave being in Judy’s basement this month without someone else in the house. Also I feel their house is haunted because there is always some racket going on. Clomping around on the decks, hot tub coming on, creaking floors, all sorts of stuff. But I have become used to them. Soooo, about 10:30 I came upstairs to get something to drink. It was pitch black because it was daylight when I went down. Also, the sliding glass door and screen door to the deck was wide open and the wind was howling!!!!!! Whoa. Is there someone in the house, are they hiding, do I call 911, am I going to have a heart attack because my heart is pounding so hard!!!!! I didn’t know what to do. I turned on some lights and looked around and nothing looked amiss. I am a scary movie person and I knew a few things not to do. #1 don’t look in a closet. #2 don’t look in the shower #3 don’t go back to the basement. OOPs on that one because I left my phone down there. Yikes. I ran down the stairs and ran back up and plugged I the phone so I could call for help. (I forgot there is a landline and I could have called 911 from it and not ventured to the basement.) The one reason I didn’t totally freak out was that I couldn’t feel a presence in the house. I really needed some ice so I was walking to the laundry room and the stupid trash can they have with a sensor that makes the lid open engaged. I THOUGHT I WAS GO TO PEE MY PANTS WHEN IT FLIPPED UP. OMG Okay calm down. I got my ice and decided nobody was going to get me. I finished closing curtains and made sure doors were locked but wasn’t sure if anyone had snuck down to the basement unbeknownst to me. I Turned on the tv and thought about the doors and decided I must have left them open somehow and then was hoping that a raccoon had not come in. About midnight I decided to try and sleep on the divan with all the lights on. (Why do we leave lights on, if its dark the intruder would have to trip over something that would wake me up before they could get to me). I woke up about 4 and decided if I hadn’t met my demise by then that I could probably go to bed. This morning I was talking to Jolene and telling her my scary story. She said “Why don’t you try to retrace your steps and make sure you didn’t go out on the deck. Did you take a picture or something?” I quickly replied “I did take a photo of Judy’s Christmas cactus that is in full bloom! And….my hands were full when I came back in. Mystery solved. Whew. Below is the culprit.
xms cactus
Robin picked me up at noon and off we went on a Quilt Shop Hop. Very fun. We went to 4 towns. You get your pass signed and they give you a block pattern plus 20% off of material. Love quilt shops. While I was in the last shop I used the restroom. After I had dried my hands with the paper towels, I stood over the trash can for a couple of minutes waiting for the lid to open like the one at Judy’s. MLMLML (stands for maniac laugh) After relaying this whole story to Mary she said “girlfriend you need to get out of the house more!” I totally agree.
Time to go to the basement. šŸ™‚

4 Responses to “I definitely need to get out more”

  1. Erin 03/12/2014 at 9:10 pm #

    I know I probably shouldn’t have, but I laughed and laughed as I read this.I couldn’t help it. But I’m SO happy you didn’t meet your demise!! Miss you!

  2. Mitzi Keairns 03/13/2014 at 8:00 am #

    J yoiu are too finny! I love you and can’t wait to have some crazy old fun with you this summer!!!

  3. duartlingo 03/18/2014 at 1:38 pm #

    j I just had some installed on the bedroom doors, so when they are down (closed position) I know there is someone lurking on the other side.šŸ‘¹

  4. duartlingo 03/18/2014 at 1:41 pm #

    You see the thought scared me sooooo much I forgot to say I had ‘blinds’ installed. ā“ā“ā“

Leave a Reply

