Last day in Llano

14 Feb

Just tidbits from last day in Llano

This was my wonderful valentine from Denny. I truly believe that he should be a professional card shopper because he is always spot on. Enjoy the video. He loves the musical cards.
Today we went with Carl and Konnie to the quilt show in Marble Falls..But…first we ate breakfast at the Bluebonnet Café. I had Homemade apple pie ala mode and Konnie and I split a chocolate cream pie. Now that is the breakfast of champions. Then it was off to the quilt show. The first person I saw was my quilt instructor at the door greeting so that was fun. Then I ran into a lady I met at the quilt shop in Fredricksburg who talks as loud and as much as I do. (I know that is hard to believe) Also checked out the boutique that my friend Trudy who camped at Circle last summer told me about. Unfortunately she wasn’t working today but I met her friend her knew about me. They made a lot of bowl holders which Trudy got the idea from me and they sold out of them. It was a fun show but not as many vendors as the last one we went to but some beautiful pieces. The best thing I saw was the avatars.
avatar
Their local quilt club had the members make these avatar quilts of themselves. Think that would be fun.
After that we stopped at Walgreens so I could pick up my Soma for my spasming back. While there I was looking for some Vitamin B-12 and couldn’t find any that didn’t have a ton of crap in them. So…this clerk came by and I told her my issue and she said “well try the liquid drops. They shouldn’t have all that crap in it”. Low and behold she was right. We knuckled over that and the next thing I know she is coming to Colorado this summer and will come down and stay in our little campers. Now that is customer service.
walgreens
Just a glimpse of how cold it was here a couple of days ago. Frozen berries and barbed wire.
frozen barbwire
Just finished watching “Captain Phillips”. Wow, how intense. I didn’t realize that he was actually taken off of the ship during the hijacking. I know Tom Hanks is up for Academy award but I’m not sure who I want to win that category.
We are having a big black cast iron metal piece to put on our wagon out front in the park. It is going to be beautiful. Here is a photo of it still in the heating oven.
iron sign
Last but not least a photo of me in my cowgirl hat. Maybe I’ll make my avatar quilt with that.
cowboy j
Have to got to get to bed because we are up early and on the road by 7. It’s about an 11 hour drive. Having big birthday party for my Mom on Sunday. 94 years old. All the sisters will be there and brother John. Should be quite a celebration after the last few months.

3 Responses to “Last day in Llano”

  1. Emily 02/14/2014 at 9:59 pm #

    I am thrilled about your Mom’s birthday party. I know it will he so much fun. 🙂
    I hope you do an avatar quilt with your hat on, you look like a Texan wearing it.
    Safe travels.

  2. Carl 02/15/2014 at 4:27 am #

    I have decided that Denny and I should be nominated for sainthood because after all, how many men (I use that term loosely), do you know that would spend Valentines Day at a quilt show and then prepare their wives a steak dinner to top it off! Of course I am stealing part of the credit since Denny Cooked dinner. Great steaks by the way! It was a fun day J! Be safe in your travels!

  3. Dulany 02/19/2014 at 11:46 am #

    Have a great BIRTHDAY Celebration 🎉🎂 and as they say ……….’and many MORE’

Leave a Reply

