Happy Thanksgiving?

28 Nov

Last night when Denny was bringing me over to the hospital he was talking to me and I wasn’t listening. He said “what are you thinking about?” I said “my blog and how it was going to be titled I’m not happy and I’m not thankful”. He didn’t think that sounded very nice and I said “that’s just how I feel at this moment”. We stopped at this little Mexican café in Berryville for dinner. It’s a little family owned place that has been in the area about 20 years. Our waitress was an older lady who had that “lifetime being a waitress” aura about her. So..I started talking to her and turns out she’s been a waitress for like 20 years. She said she’s been with this restaurant since the early 90’s. Then she told us about a teenage boy who was dating the owners daughter back then and he took the dishwashing job. He is still there washing dishes and she said that he is the highest paid dishwasher around. We met the son and the owner. The son graduated from CU in Boulder. He was so polite. So after this little encounter, I couldn’t believe how much better I felt mentally. It’s so easy during this difficult time to just stay in my head and not feel very well.
Had a good night with Mom. She was once again disoriented when I got here but the nurse said “it’s nighttime and that is when Sundowners kicks in”. She woke about 5:30 am after a good night’s sleep. We are so grateful for her being able to finally sleep. When the nurse came in to check vitals, Mom gave her the sweetest smile and she said that she was the first patient to smile at her. Mom and I had a fun little chat and she gave me one of these sweet smiles that just makes me want to gather her up in my arms and just hold her.
I am thankful for the kind little hospital that Mom is in. I am still so impressed with the entire staff and feel Mom is safe here. We may be dealing with a new issue today, but I’m confident that right decisions will be made.
The sisters and I did go to the nursing home with records on Tuesday afternoon to talk to them about Mom. We all felt good about how it went and how the director was going to get right on it. About an hour later the director calls me to say they did a full body check on Mom on admission and that there was a bruise on her hip. (We have a photo which shows she has a bruises from her hip and all over her pelvic area in the front) Then she proceeds to say “This happens all the time. The patient goes to the hospital and there may be a hairline fracture that is missed in an Xray. They do a little rehab while there and then they come here and begin more vigorous rehab and the next thing you know they have a fractured pelvis” So they are already back pedaling. My next conversation with her will begin with “well if this happens all the time, why they hell didn’t you take her to the hospital and see why she was in so much pain!!!!”. Emotionally, I can’t deal with it right now but I will go back next week and talk again. Just can’t believe she gave me a call like that. I would think that the nursing home would not want to piss off the sisters with that type of attitude.
I am very thankful for many things around me: Mom, sisters, Denny, a patient brother in law who has let us invade his home, my kids, my puppies, my friends, my life.. I may not feel very happy at the moment, but I am trying to deal with all the issues a day or an hour at a time. Again, thanks for listening and I hope you all have a good day.

2 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving?”

  1. Mitzi Keairns 12/03/2013 at 10:59 am #

    You amaze me my friend. Resilliency is a great trait to.have. Add that to your list of many other fine attributes! Busy day today running around before the big freeze. I will get back to you soon. LOVE YOU!!!

  2. Mitzi Keairns 12/03/2013 at 11:01 am #

    oops I misspelled resilience I hate when words are misspelled….especially by me! I used to be such a good speller. Just another thing going by the way side I guess. (sigh)

Leave a Reply

