The calm after the storm

14 Nov

It’s 11 pm and I hope to be asleep soon. After an extremely emotional night, the day actually turned out okay. Judy and Jolene drove Mom to the rehab place called Brighton Ridge in Eureka Springs. It is actually a Nursing Home but is known for it’s rehab in the area. It’s not fancy but there seems to be a caring staff. Mom got settled in and seemed to be accepting the move okay. It will be quite a different atmosphere and we are all wondering how the night will actually go. The good news is that the next place she will move to, hopefully her last move, is very aware of clients with Sundowner/nighttime issues and are prepared to handle anything that comes their way. We anticipate her being in there around Thanksgiving which means we will get going on getting her things ready to go over there. It’s not as big of a place but her favorite items will fit in there. It is called Green Acres Lodge. I think it actually may have been a lodge back in the day, whatever day that was.
There were a few glitches after the move. When they weighed in my Mom on one of those big scales, it said she weighed 156. It’s very apparent she does not weigh that much and we had them re weigh her which was what it should have been. There is an extra bed in Mom’s room so I was sitting on it talking to Judy. All of a sudden something comes crashing down on me. I was afraid it was the ceiling but it was actually a picture that was on the wall. Alrighty then, let’s be happy that Mom wasn’t in that bed!! So, good thoughts so that the rehab gives her confidence to continue on to Green Acres.
Jolene and I have fallen in love with the Local Flavor restaurant in Eureka Springs. Tonight, Blue Filet with gorgonzola butter, mashed potatoes, asparagus and spinach with a cup of hot Chai tea. Great comfort meal. 2 nights ago we had a Baked Brie with honey sauce and a Sesame Crusted Goat cheese arugula salad with Chicken. Felt like I was back in Paris.
My readership was over 100 today. I told my sister that I felt very loved today by my family and friends. I love you all back.

3 Responses to “The calm after the storm”

  1. L&T 11/14/2013 at 2:17 pm #

    Hang in there J, we are all thinking of you and hoping and praying for some peace and contentment for your mom, and all of your family.

  2. duartlingo 11/14/2013 at 9:45 pm #

    I was thinking about you all day sooooo I thought I would get caught up on your blog. You brought me to tears and I just wish there was some comfort I could send to you and your sisters. It does sound like things are better now and I am sending you HUGS. Miss you, love Dulany

  3. Erin 11/14/2013 at 10:33 pm #

    You ARE loved.

Leave a Reply

