DNR

1 Nov

I am so tired emotionally.  It seems this past year has had so much confusion, illness and sadness.  I titled this DNR because my mom has been adamant about her DNR status for a few years. Since August of last year she has gone through a rehab for hip replacement, broken arm and cracked pelvis. That lasted almost 4 months. Then she fell in July and spent 6 weeks in rehab for a cracked tibia from a fall.  Now she is in the hospital recovering from a heart attack and laid on the floor for 18 hours before she was found. She is now in congestive heart failure. She is 93 years old and has stated the last few months that she is done and is ready to be with Dad and Juli. During her stay in the hospital they have her hooked up to oxygen, giving her lasix to drain fluid off of her lungs and around her heart. She is wearing a nitroglycerin patch. They are doing occupational and physical therapy. They are giving her meds which include a beta blocker. She is very unhappy. She is grouchy to us if we make any suggestions. She says she is soooo tired but the next thing you know she is saying she needs up in the chair because she is supposed to. Then she is tired again.  She can’t sleep at night which means that Jolene and I don’t  either. What is going on??.. Where does the DNR come into play? I don’t like seeing my mom depressed. I miss her energy and sense of humor. I don’t want to feel frustrated with her at this stage of her life. I am praying for patience and strength. How do I rate the pain in my heart today? 10 

3 Responses to “DNR”

  1. ruth 11/01/2013 at 8:20 pm #

    Oh J, I know how hard this is to go through. Wish I could be there for you. My prayer is for peace and comfort for your mom and healing for your heart. Putting everything in God’s hands….

    love you

  2. EJ 11/01/2013 at 10:34 pm #

    Oh J. Im so sorry u have to go through this. I lost my Mom from heart failure. Im sending u big hugs and sayings big prayers to you and your family. Love u

  3. Sandy 11/02/2013 at 7:52 am #

    Ask your Higher Power for clarity– you will be guided and will know what to do when. love to you, Sandy

Leave a Reply

