Entering our last month as RV park owners

1 Oct

juli's rainbow

kids at funeral

It’s been quite an emotional last week and a half. Juli’s funeral was beautiful. Her church was wonderful to the family. Juli’s husband Doug has done a wonderful job with Jonathon and Lacey. Their school is prepared to help them through this difficult time. Of course, it was heartbreaking to know how much they will miss their Mommy, but how wonderful that they also have a loving home which might have not been the case had Doug and Juli not adopted them. Most of the family was able to fly in for the weekend. We were able to be together most of the time. Thank you everyone for your prayers during the past year. As you can see from the photo of the rainbow, Juli is in heaven and was sending us all a message. It was a weird rainbow. It had only rained a little bit and it wasn’t like it was all thunderstormy. We walked out of our motel rooms by the lake and there was this full rainbow to greet us. Wow. Marjorie, Juli’s aunt, was getting on the airplane Sunday afternoon and was thinking how much she would have liked to see a rainbow because she missed the one on Saturday As the plane was flying up in the clouds, here came a rainbow. She said they were so close to it that she felt like she could touch it. They were actually flying above it. I know it all sounds a little hokey, but…..I feel it is powerful and a strong message from Juli that her beliefs were true and she is in Jesus’s arms and feeling no pain. The other photo is of all the little cousins that came. Lacey and Jonathon were able to be with them the whole weekend. Life does go on.
On Saturday afternoon, Billie, Marjorie and I were able to drive over to the beach in Melbourne for a little sand walking. Marjorie and I go back to when we were 10 and 11. We used to spend weekends with Judy and Jack when she lived in Kansas City. We were able to sit on the sand and talk. I was FINALLY able to let go of some thoughts and feelings that were uncomfortable. I wasn’t sure if that was going to be able to happen. But thank you Marjorie for listening. She has a very calming effect on me. She is very soft spoken (I wonder what that is like?).
Now…I am back in Colorado and can’t believe it is October 1. Another calendar page ripped off. It is sunny, cool and the yellow is beginning to show up on the mountains with the changing of the aspens. It’s a little slow this year because I guess it has to freeze to get things going. Denny is busy picking up limbs and hauling them to the dump. We were hoping to have a burn pile but the town says no way. We are also getting ready to start building to more sites along the river and they will be 50 amps. That is exciting. The park is really empty now. We have 2 seasonals left. We are in for a big weekend and the park will be full for about 3 days. Luckily, I will be here for most of the check ins that will come in on Friday. Denny will be making chili for about 70 people on Saturday. We have a group of 17 rv’s coming in. This is Oktoberfest weekend. The town blocks the downtown streets all day. There are vendors, a beer garden and entertainment. It’s always a good day unless the weather is really crappy.
Beginning to think about what I need to pack for my upcoming Paris trip which begins Saturday. I’m taking the train Friday night to Lawrence, KS. My friend Margie will pick me up and then that afternoon, Billie is taking us to the airport where we will leave at 3:45. We have quite the itinerary with Eiffel tower tour, a train trip, a Cordon Bleu cooking class and several other little trips around the city. The weather looks like it will be in the 60’s and lows in the 50’s so I’m hoping to pack smartly with outfits that layer up. I also have 2 pair of comfy shoes. Trying to decide about having assistance at the airports when we have to go through customs. Feet are feeling better but if I have to stand in long lines they could get pretty achy. Birkenstocks, birkenstocks…the best shoe so far for the feet. I bought a new pair of regular birk shoes that lace up and a pair of strap sandals that have cushion on the toes and heels.
Getting foot massage today. Have a poker game Wednesday night. Lunch with Mitzi Thursday. It’s nice to be able to get out and about.
Random thoughts:
I think that airlines should charge the people who carry on the $25 charge and let the check-ins go free.
Car rental places are evil. I thought I was being given a nice deal from Alamo. I had rented a mini van and the guy asked if I was sure that was big enough. He said they had a special on SUV’s that day. I said I may need bigger since we had family members coming in for the funeral. He went and asked (supposedly) if I could get the SUV cheaper. He came back and said I could have it for $39 a day. When it was all calculated, the bill came to $262. I didn’t question because I just didn’t. When John and I went back to Alamo the next day to get his name on it, I questioned about the cost. The man said that the $39 was an upgrade to my mini-van. I said I wasn’t told that. He just shook his head proceeded to charge us another $140. Whoa. John talked to them about the issue on Monday and it looks like we may get $120 back. We’ll see. Now that I’ve written this I think I’m giving them a call right now.
United Airlines has the best airplane, at least what I flew on. Lots of leg room.

Leave a Reply

