Sunday, June 30, 2013

30 Jun

I’ll be tearing off another page of the calendar tomorrow. Finishing up being Circle the Wagons owners for 2 months. So far, so good. July, by reservations, will be our biggest month. This week will be crazy with people coming in and out for the holiday. We have 2 back to back groups coming in next weekend plus the rest of the park is full. I so hope I haven’t forgotten some reservation!!
Mary arrived Thursday night to be with us for 2 months. She’s already been a huge help with housecleaning, etc. We are still trying to get moved in. The trailer came with our belongings, but…they didn’t bring a key for the padlock. So…we waited all day the next for it to get here and finally called the truck company and said we are breaking the lock. When Denny got the trailer open he discovered there was no ramp. This truck is like a 1/2 of a semi so it is very high off the ground. So more phone calls, no ramp available, etc, etc. Now, Denny is on his way back to Kansas for the last load of stuff from house and he is bringing back a ramp, maybe.
Our work camper couple arrived yesterday afternoon, Terry and Diana. They are great and I think they will be a big help. They already are because…Mary and I decided yesterday that we needed another little camper that we can rent out here. So we called Billie and asked if she would like to sell her little 15 foot trailer. She agreed. Terry and Diana are on their way to Kansas with their truck and following Denny so they can bring the trailer back. How cool is that!!!
Many of our evacuees have left this weekend to go back to work at Fun Valley. We have 3 couples still here because only the workers are allowed to return. Our fire is out and the fire workers are all leaving in the next couple of days. We are all so fortunate how much work these workers did to keep that fire from doing more damage. From a distance, one wouldn’t know that the East Peak is all burned up.
We have had a couple of rain showers. Thursday night we had a huge thunderstorm that knocked or power out. It also wreaked havoc on the wireless connection. That is one thing that will piss off a bunch of rver’s is when the wireless is down. Friday wasn’t so bad, but Saturday morning we had a major outage. I spent 3 hours on the phone trying to get it fixed. After being on hold for 30 minutes, the tech finally answered and we were disconnected immediately. I called right back to be put on hold for another 30 minutes. By the time this tech answered, I was sobbing. When he asked me for my number in case we disconnected I said “Please call me back, sob sob sob, if we disconnect”. He said “I’ll dry your tears, we’ll get it fixed and we did.
The weather is beautiful today and there is water in the river which is a treat. Last week was unbearably hot for a few days so we finally hooked up our swamp cooler. Now that’s a different kind of air conditioner. It’s a bit noisy and has a powerful fan that actually blew the tuna salad off of my bread when I walked under it. Meeko and Jumper love it and their hair just blows all around.
Getting busy so that’s it for now.

4 Responses to “Sunday, June 30, 2013”

  1. ruth 07/01/2013 at 7:31 am #

    Glad things have settled down around your little piece of Heaven out there. Even with so many things going wrong; you still manage to make me lol…I mean having your tuna salad fly into space probably didn’t make you

    laugh….but it did make me…sorry 🙂 God bless all your helpers and you
    And Denny…love ya
    give puppies a hug for me 🙂

  2. Margie Costello 07/02/2013 at 8:53 pm #

    I am glad I rediscovered jbirdworld! I love, love, love, reading your posts. Really, you should try that comedy gig again, your a natural at making life’s happenings super entertaining! It’s like I am sitting down with you for a visit and it is good medicine for me : )
    You are the same spunky girl I met when we were so young, keep it up!
    Your blood sister, Margie

  3. Kathy 07/05/2013 at 6:46 am #

    You always bring a smile to my face, with the various antics going on. Never heard of a fan being so strong to blow tuna salad of the bread!!!

Leave a Reply

