13 Mar

securedownload[1]
Just in from spending a few hours in the studio. Totally into weaving right now. Photo is my latest creation of placemats. 4 colors in the warp gives the placemat a multi color look. Using 2 types of yarn in weave so it has a nice texture. Doing an order of 10 right now. That’s exciting.
My notecard fundraising is coming right along. Whats really cool is that I delivered some boxes to some friends in Lawrence today. One of the ladies has been to India a couple of times on mission work, so we had a lot to talk about. She ordered 5 of my India Hut notecards to give to others who have been to India. Received orders today for 7 more boxes which brings me to a total order of 14 so far. That’s $140 for Friends of Namakkal so far.
Rented the movie “Sessions” while weaving tonight. Really good movie about man who had polio and had to use an iron lung. While in his 40’s, he hired a sex surrogate. His name was Mark Obrien. Very interesting and touching movie.
Today, I went to Lawrence again to see the Dr. Joe to work on my left foot. It’s a fairly tortuous procedure and actually brought tears to my eyes. I have 3 extreme stretches to do 3 times a day. He thinks I should see results pretty soon. So far, nothing good happening. He is a really good guy to go to for physical therapy issues and I totally trust him, so maybe next week my foot will begin to show improvement.
Denny finished redoing Ruth’s back steps. He even made the landing bigger. The 3 of us were talking today and I had a really nice memory from the early 80’s. Ruth and I were very involved with motorcycle events at that time. I was State Secretary for ABATE. Her husband was always in charge of a motorcycle show or something. I would sell my buttons at the events.I would also take photos of a person and their motorcycle and then put the photo in a button. Denny was involved because of the Harley store. One year, Joe and I and Ruth and Gerry were awarded something from the Harley store for our contributions in motorcycle awareness. When Denny introduced me, he went on and on about all the things I was involved and he said he couldn’t believe how I did it all. Ruth thought then that Denny really really liked me, so did others. Well, look at us now. Little did we know at the time that we would some day be married to each other and he would lead such a busy life. It’s cool that Ruth is still such a good friend of ours.
We are still waiting patiently to see if our new life adventure is going to happen. We thought we would know this week, but now it will be next week. Hopefully by the end of next week we will be on our way to Arizona by way of Arkansas. It will be good to take a break from the waiting and anticipation of wondering what is going to happen.
I did something a little out of the ordinary yesterday. I have always wanted to have a make over done on a tv show. When we were on the cruise, one of the passengers told us how she had been picked to go on Kelly and Regis for a Mothers Day makeover. Long story short, I sent an email to the Rachel Ray show and a photo of me with a kind of pitiful story of why I need a makeover. So….we’ll see. My friend Claire is also going to work on sending some requests to shows too. Maybe if we saturate the networks, one of them will see our letters. My request is to get a look as I go into my 60’s. I would like to have help on wig styles and color and also I would love to see if there is some way I could have really natural looking eyelashes. I don’t think that is too much to ask.
I continue to go without Pepsi, 7 weeks and 1 day. I’m averaging losing a pound a week so I am now at 153.2. I weigh nekked in the morning and that is the number I am going by. Started out at 159.
That’s it for now. Let me know if any of you would like a set of placemats. They are soft, colorful and fun and would go with many colors of dinnerware.

One Response to “”

  1. Mitzi Keairns 03/14/2013 at 10:00 am #

    Your placemats are BEAUTIFUL! I am wondering if I might need some (I only have about 50 placemats!…..but I do use them every day! Also, these are original works of art! There is no end to the creativity of my J bird!! Hope that your foot continues to improve and also keeping my fingers crossed for the business proposition! Keep us up to date about your Arizona plans and we will try to meet up! Don would love to play golf with you guys!!!

Leave a Reply

