Tidbits Tuesday

5 Mar

studio messwarp</adining work spadefuzzy rugquilt pocket
Photos are my loom, my new rug, my out of control work spaces and my latest quilting project. Give you the experience of my chaos when I’m manic.
Just realized it has been a few days since I’ve blogged. I’ve been in a slightly manic pace and trying to do everything my mind wants me to do. It has been fun because mainly I’ve been sewing and weaving. Once again, my mathematical skills failed me. On Saturday, I decided I was going to warp my loom, which I haven’t done for many months, so..everything was a little confusing. I carefully measured from the center of the loom out to the sides to get the right size for my many placemats I was going to weave. Then I decided I would do a 2 color warp. Then I decided how much length I needed to make the placemats. Then I tried to remember how to warp. It took about an hour to remember that. Then I had to remember how to pull the warp through the heddles. Then Denny came to the studio to hold the warp so I could wind it up after I remembered how to do that. After I had wound it up, I forgot that I had to roll paper around with the threads. So….I unwound it and wound it back up with the paper. Whew!! Then I had to separate the threads and put them through another hole in the heddle. Then, I got everything tied on and tightened and VOALA-I’m ready to weave. Oops. I have now realized, that after my careful measuring, I have warped the loom for the wrong direction of the placemat. Instead of being 21″ wide, it should have been 15″ wide and 21″ long. RATS. So instead of several cute, colorful, fuzzy placemats, I have 1 long colorful, fuzzy thing. Maybe it will be a rug. Also, I finished a quilting project. Enough about my crazy hobby stuff.
Made it to KC with Chuck and Cindy and had fun trying out new clubs. I came home with a 9 wood which should help the approach part of my game. Denny and Cindy each bought irons. Good day for the golf store.
Had a wonderful time in Manhattan with Lawrence and Cinda on Thursday. Dinner at Wahoos’ and then more yakking in Auntie Mae’s. That’s an old college bar in Aggieville. Had quite the ambience of all of our college days.
Finally had the Hopper show up on my recordings last night. Was dreading making a phone to Dish, so now I don’t have to.
Yeah KU and KState. Still both winning.
Meandered over to Lawrence yesterday to the Yarn Barn (I used all my rug warp), and had lunch with oooollllllldddddddd friend Margie. Not saying she is old, but saying we have known each other since we were 2. That’s 58 years!!! Her parents and my parents were good friends and now my Mom is the only one left of the 4 of them. It’s fun when we get together because we can just start up yakking like we see each other all the time which we don’t.
Hoping our friends, Nancy and Ginny, survived their swim with the manatees in some river in Florida. I’m hoping they didn’t encounter any alligators too.
Denny and I are having fun with different ideas for our next adventure in life. Lots of thoughts and it will be interesting to see which one actually happens.
I think that is all for now. It’s a blustery day but kind of sunny. Think I’ll spend the day cleaning up my messes and taking some deep breaths. : O

One Response to “Tidbits Tuesday”

  1. Margie Fieger 03/05/2013 at 12:36 pm #

    I said exactly the same thing! Nothing like a friend who you have known longer than anyone but family! It was so good to see you. See you again tomorrow when you deliver cards.

Leave a Reply

