Wednesday, February 13

13 Feb

ellitoot tutu
I kept hearing stuff about Valentines Day and just realized it is tomorrow and once again I am totally unprepared. I will plan on doing some sweet things for the Denny Poo tomorrow. He would probably be thrilled if I would just get the crap off of the card table and fold it up and get it the heck out of the living room. (Doing pretty well not swearing. I slip with a “shit” every now and then.) (Have gone 3 weeks and 1 day without a Pepsi. Still wish I would feel like a million dollars because I have given it up, but mainly I feel sluggish and tired a lot more.)
We did finish the den redecorating today. Really love the light gray paint. Denny isn’t too crazy about the carpet squares because the seams show, but I think they’ll work into each other. I made curtains today and they brighten the room up. Next room, our bedroom and then we’ll have all the icky carpet pulled. Getting rid of the carpet has certainly made the house smell better.
Have had a few busy days. Sunday we celebrated Elliott’s birthday at their house. She was dressed in her tutu and was running all over asking for her cake and opening presents. Her real party is Saturday at the ballet studio. There will be 10 little girls in their tutus. I’m really curious to how that is going to work out.
Spent Monday in Topeka. Judy treated me to birthday lunch at the Blue Moose. We had a yummy lunch and yakked about possible rumors we’ve been hearing about Bill Self. Spent an hour in Hobby Lobby just browsing which is really a fun thing for me. Then met up with Torrie, Gayle and Judy G. for dinner. Omg. I don’t think I have ever laughed so hard for a solid hour. It was really fun and very medicinal!! Tuesday was a Topeka day too. Hung out with Billie, then I drove to Alta Vista for an art class. I’m hoping to do a painting of a “Bird of Paradise”. That is on my agenda for tomorrow.
One of the things I think I forgot to mention in the things I wasn’t going to bring into my 60’s is the worries I have about my son. It may seem weird to you, but you can’t imagine what it is like to hear about a shooting or a drug bust and actually think you are going to see your son’s name connected to it. It happend again tonight because of a shooting that happened where a man in his 30’s had been killed. It’s very hard for me to ignore that one day this could actually happen, but I will continue to pray for him that someday he will find his way back to us who are waiting for him.

2 Responses to “Wednesday, February 13”

  1. Kathy 02/14/2013 at 9:48 am #

    Have a happy Valentine’s Day Bird and Denny! Congrats on being Pepsi-Free for over 3 weeks. A thought on feeling more spunk is trying “SPORTea”. I can’t do caffeine and don’t like sugar drinks, but this is really good and gives you a slight pick-me-up. Here’s a link with more info: http://www.sportea.com/what_is_sportea.php

    All the best!

  2. Mitzi Keairns 02/14/2013 at 9:22 pm #

    Happy Valentine’s day to you little lovebirds. Had to go to Pueblo to get Don’s crown on his tooth and had lunch at the Olive Garden…not bad food for a chain. He is feeling just fine now. Going to bed because our flight for New Orleans leaves at 6am out of the Springs and it is snowing. Not much sleeping tonight. You take care and try not to worry too much about those things that you have not control over. Congrats on the pepsi. I wish I could live without chocolate!!! Might be a little skinnier (but crabbier!) Love you!

Leave a Reply

