I need a bigger cup!!

4 Feb

The title of today’s post coming from the movie “Jaws” when Brody said we need a bigger boat. Moving forward to ease some health anxieties, I visited the nurse practioner today. She is great and listened to all of my idiosyncracies. She did request a urine test, which is fine. What wasn’t fine is that I went to the bathroom when I left her office and forgot to go to the lab. So….I spent an hour driving around and drinking stuff so I could go back to the lab. Once I accomplished the sample, I stepped out of the bathroom and put the cup in the basket and announced loudly, of course,”I need someone to show me how to do that!” One of the lab techs said “It tells you how to do it on the wall”, I said “I don’t mean that, I mean how do I hit the cup!”. They cracked up and thankfully one of the ladies behind the desk said “I hear ya’,”, so I didn’t have to sound like a complete idiot. I am going to invent a bigger sterile cup, like the size of a mayonaise jar, and sell them to the labs for people like me.
Another thing she suggested is that I take Melatonin at night to help me sleep. I can go to bed okay, but I get squirmy and end up wandering around and sleeping on the divan every night. Hope it works since we don’t have the most comfortable divan for sleeping. I end up all curled up funny.
I do believe the foot splint is working on my left foot. My feet haven’t really been an issue in the last couple of days.
Regarding my no Pepsi, I am now on day 6 of not drinking it and also not replacing it with another pop. No weight loss as of the doctor’s scale. How come they won’t let you take your clothes off when they weigh you. I want to explain that my jeans are heavy, my shoes are heavy, my sweatshirt is heavy when the weight comes up.
Regarding my swearing. I think I have only said the “F” word twice in a week. One was for medicinal reasons because I was talking to my friend Zada and said something about “my f”ing feet”. It’s a new week and I’ll keep trying.
Was thinking today how lucky we are and the friends we have. In the time we were gone on vacation, we hung out with friends in Naco, AZ, Phoenix, AZ, and La Veta, CO. Today, I stopped in Eskridge and ended up yakking it up with Jan at the library, Jody and Deb at the cafe, Hazel at the post office, and Erin at the Rush Inn. Another person I have been in contact with is a long lost friend from the 70’s Her name is Vicki and we hung out for a couple of years when I lived in Georgia. She was married to my husband’s cousin. Now one might think that I am a bit on the crazy side now, but I was wayyyyy on the crazy side when I lived in Georgia and Vicki and I had a lot of good times. We are both married now to great men who spoil us rotten and I think that is really cool. Hope to actually meet up with them sometime this year.
Denny has leveled the den floor and I think the next step will be the carpet squares. Maybe get them tomorrow while we are both in Topeka for our procedures. I really hope they don’t have to cut much more skin off of Denny’s leg. I am having a crown and it is one of those kind that they put the whole thing in a couple of hours.
2 of Billies kids were able to go to school today, but she is home today with Cade who has pneumonia. Yikes. They started him on the Zpack today and he can go to school on Wednesday. I will be watching the boys on Thursday and Friday since they are out of school.
Enjoyed the Super Bowl and I was for the Ravens. I really didn’t make a decision until I watched a show on ESPN on OJ Brigance. He is a former Raven’s player with ALS. He still works for the Ravens and the only way he can communicate is by blinking his eyes at a computer and then the computer talks for him. Pretty inspirational. That’s it for now. Hope to take puppies for a walk since it is so nice out. Lake is over 15″ down.

2 Responses to “I need a bigger cup!!”

  1. Kathy 02/05/2013 at 9:50 am #

    Thanks for the chuckle today. You may be on to something, developing a new pee cup. Hhmm. Have a terrific day.

  2. Margie Fieger 02/09/2013 at 2:49 pm #

    Just a word of warning about melatonin – it keeps me awake badly! I am glad to know that someone else wanders at I sleep on our couch frequently. Good luck!
    Margie

Leave a Reply

