60 years old

29 Jan

us 3
Today is my 60th birthday. Hard to believe. I have secretly been celebrating all month by spending time in Arizona and Hawaii. Pretty spoiled I am. I’ve thought a lot about turning 60 and some things that I will hope to change.
Beginning today I am not taking Pepsi into the 60’s with me. That has been a habit I have I battled for years. I’m tired of trashing my body with pop so that is #1 on my list.
#2. I’m going to work on my various anxieties which have plagued me most of my life. Anxiety affects my well being, my energy, my creativity. Sometimes it paralyzes and I become so fearful, I can’t bear it. I don’t want to deal with them in my 60s
#3. I hope to leave my immature sensitivity behind. I have worked very hard on this for several months and feel I have conquered that issue to some degree. Sometimes I have to say to myself “I don’t care”, which is hard.
#4. I would like to leave my swearing behind, expecially the “F”word. We’ll see how that goes, but if I am consciously trying not to cuss, maybe it will happen.
#5. I would like to not take my feet issues into the 60’s, but as of now, they are coming with me. I am being proactive now by wearing foot splints at night. I’m going to give it 4 months, and if things don’t improve, I’m going to have my heels cut to release the tendons.
#6. I would like to leave my depression issues behind, but that is something I will deal with forever.
#7. I hope to leave some weight behind. I may have left about 4 lbs due to our healthy eating the last 9 days. we’ll see how that all goes. It’s not like I want to lose 30 lbs. but right now I’m in that 155 range and would like to be in the 145 range which is 10 lbs less than my BMI so that would make me happy.
I am so lucky to still be around to have the lovely life I have. I have a fantastic husband, a great family, great friends, great opportunities to try new things, travel thousands of miles, live in a fabulous lake house and have a great motorhome to travel in. I love bicycling, golfing,painting,knitting,weaving,quilting,watching scary movies and scary tv shows,being with friends,hanging with grandkids,helping out when needed,and sometimes just sitting in my recliner in my comfy clothes and watching tv. I love to blog and I’m glad I people who read it to share it with. It feels good to be in a good place today. Thank you God for taking care of me.

3 Responses to “60 years old”

  1. ruth 01/29/2013 at 10:13 pm #

    You’re rockin’ 60 !!! lookin’ GOOD !!!

  2. Nancy 01/30/2013 at 10:32 am #

    A great blog by a great gal!

  3. Maggie Fieger 02/02/2013 at 8:20 pm #

    It seems to me like we all have some issues that we would like to leave behind, and it’s great to think about, but remember these things . . . you are a great friend to so many, and care so much for your family. You not only care deeply about things that you believe in, but you act on them and help them as well. Your depression and anxiety would be the best things to leave behind. You’re a classy wonderful woman – enjoy life!!! Love you, Margie

Leave a Reply

