Tuesday afternoon in Molokai

8 Jan

j beachdenny kite
We began today’s adventure around 9 am. Our goal was to find the leper colony, phallic rock, and while looking for those we came upon a museum about a suger mill that was built in the 1880’s. Now those who know me that I don’t particularly like museums but the old man who ran this one was so endearing that I actually sat through 2 films about the mill and island!! It was interesting and I am always amazed to hear stories about the people who traveled to these lands by ships and not even knowing if they would make it to their destination alive. How did they figure out the the mechanisms to build a sugar grinder, separater, horse drawn thingy majiggy, etc.. After that tour we were heading to the Big Wind Kite Factory. Now…if you don’t like sad stories, don’t continue reading. For 17 years I have heard Denny tell me about how much he loved Molokai when he came here 20 years and that it was soooooo laid back that they flew kites on the beach!!! So he bought a kite at the factory to relive the fond memory. We immediately drove to the 3 mile beach so he could fly the kite and Mary and I would quit bugging him about going to the f@#$%^ beach! After eating our picnic lunch, which was covered with blowing sand, Denny began to put his kite together. Immediately, the kite flew out of his hands and was blowing down the beach toward the water. While still holding the tail of the kite he started after it with me screaming at him not to get close to the water because he would get washed away. Just as he was just about to get it, a wave came and took it out to sea. He stood there forlornly hoping it would float back to him.

While we were at the coffee plantation, I think I met a famous artist, Robert Regis DVORAK. He was there with some artists from the mainland for a watercolor retreat. I introduced myself as a fledgling artist that began when I was 48. He said, “so just a couple of years ago!!” Another BMFF.
One would think when an island only has a couple of highways and is only 41 miles around you wouldn’t get lost, but we did a few times, but I think now we have things figured out. We were home at 3. After a snoozes Mary and Denny are fixing chicken and salad. Not sure what is in store for tomorrow, although I am determined to find a seashell somewhere. Still haven’t painted anything yet. It is so windy on our little balcony that it isn’t possible. Maybe first thing in the morning.. I have all sorts of ideas to paint. The ocean is so many different colors. There were waves just crashing and crashing. I did warn some people who were going into the water at the beach to get their feet wet not to do that but I don’t think they liked that. All I know is that this is a very dangerous time for the beach and that I have a friend who had a friend who was swept away when her husband was taking her picture. When I had Denny take my beach photo today, I stayed a long way away from the water, I was afraid he would say “back up a little, a little more….”
Aloha, more adventures tomorrow. Don’t forget to look at youtube video on the post before this one.

5 Responses to “Tuesday afternoon in Molokai”

  1. Emily 01/08/2013 at 11:30 pm #

    My heart breaks for Denny and his lost kite. Tell him I am so sorry! You adventures never cease to amaze me and make me laugh. Continue to have fun 🙂

  2. billie 01/09/2013 at 6:22 am #

    Denny Poo that breaks my heart!! The picture tells the whole story!! Mom. I now have anither thing to tell the cops if you go missing!!!! ML ML CL CL

  3. Carl 01/09/2013 at 7:56 am #

    Poor Denny! Break down and buy the boy another kite! Sounds like a wonderful time.

  4. Kathy 01/09/2013 at 9:22 am #

    Loved the photos, and Denny does look so sad. I’m a terrible friend, I’ll fess up – after seeing the photo and then reading about the kite – it made me laugh. I could just picture this scene. Not funny, I know! But, had to let you know that you sent me a chuckle today. Enjoy your time in Molokai!!

  5. ruth 01/11/2013 at 9:26 am #

    It was a brief relationship built on fond memories …. Burial at sea….R.I.P. Kite friend 😦 sorry Denny

Leave a Reply

