December 23, 2012

23 Dec

 

I’m glad the world didn’t come to an end on the 21st but I will be glad when 2012 is over with.  Today was to be the day loading up the motorhome and heading south tomorrow, but with a major storm in the west, we have had to put our departure off for a few days and now probably won’t take the rv and just drive the truck to AZ.  Good news is I can be kind of a lazy bum part of the day.

We’ve had a busy last few days. We went to Arkansas last Wednesday.  On the way we stopped and saw my brother John and delivered his Christmas presents. He was excited about his upcoming 61st birthday and his pizza party he is going to have. He’s doing okay but seems fragile.  I hope he makes it through the 2013 with no falls.

We arrived at my Mom’s Wednesday evening.  It was so good to see her and be with her.  She continues to do well and is attending her exercise classes and does her exercises the therapists gave her. She walked the hallways without the walker and her goal is to be free of the walker, but I told her that she is still a strong woman with or without the walker and is also an inspiration to all of us.   The best part of the day was when Judy and Marvin came over to play bridge.  We played for about an hour and Mom and Marvin whooped up on us and gave us no mercy.  We kept teasing Mom that she was trying to act like she was weak and she was so mean with her bids!! It was fun.  That evening we went to Judy’s and Denny cooked dinner for us and Juli and her kids.  I wish you could see how wonderful Juli is feeling.  She has energy and food is tasting good to her again. They will be here until New Year’s eve.  When she gets home in January, she’ll go through a regimen of tests she will begin chemo if that is the direction the doctors decide to go.  Prayers needed.  I do believe that prayers have taken her through her grueling surgery and recovery and the radiation/chemo therapy.  Prayers have given her an optimistic outlook and has given her the strength it takes to go through this battle. I am so inspired by her and my Mom.

juli mom

When we got home Friday and I stayed all night with Billie.  She had to work this weekend and Cade had a hockey game in St. Joe, so I stayed with Kyler and Elliott during the day and Denny and I watched all the kids last night.

Today will be kind of a quiet day.  Denny is cooking a turkey. The lake is shrouded in a light fog and it is very cold out. I think the high tomorrow is to be 15 or something. My big goal is to patch up the boat cover.  With my new heavy duty sewing machine and denim needle, I hope to be successful. I’ve never dealt with anything that heavy.

Thankfully the groomer was able to tell us why Jumper’s face is so stinky at times.  Apparently it was his eyes and they can get a little infection around them.  She cut away a lot of the hair around his eyes and said to put neosporin under them if he gets stinky again.  I am so happy because he is so cute and cuddly but when he is stinky the last thing you want from him is to be cuddly.  We did make a difficult decision but a good one regarding Jumper and Meeko.  We are going to leave them with Auntie Ruth instead of taking them to Arizona with us.  It was going to get complicated.  It will be hard to be away from them for such a long time, but they love Ruth so they will be fine.

I hope everyone has a great Christmas and a great New Year.  We will celebrate 15 years of marriage this year. Whoo Hoo.

 

 

 

One Response to “December 23, 2012”

  1. Kathy 12/25/2012 at 9:14 am #

    Merry Christmas Bird, Denny, Meeko and Jumper!! Enjoy your day!!

Leave a Reply

