Tidbits

12 Dec

Watching Gabby Douglas on 10 Most Fascinating People. She is remarkable and really came from a hard background.

Haven’t written for awhile. No real reason why, not feeling especially inspired maybe?

Life around us is kind of calming down, but still have some things up in the air.  Billie is wondering if her wound has quit healing and now we wonder if she will have to have a skin graft after all.  Will know that next week.  Hope to also know if Justin will have his knee reconstruction before the end of the year next week.  It would be really great if he could have it done soon since they have met their deductibles for the year.

Good news regarding my VW bug.  I think only Denny and Billie have seen me drive it and throw a fit when I couldn’t get it into 5th gear.  Now, I no longer have to do that. I took it into the VW place a couple of days ago and they said there were some cables all wrapped around it.  Only cost $113  to fix so I was happy.  Now it is really a great VW bug car.

Now Honey Boo Boo is on with Barbara Walters.  Next is the author E L James of Fifty Shades of Grey.  Now that was a hottttt book.

Have finally been getting out and about.  The PT does seem to be helping with my feet.  This weekend I walked a lot. Judy invited me to the KU/Colorado basketball game.  We probably parked about 1/2 mile a way.  Made it through that hike okay.  Sunday we went to the Cirque de Soleil show and had to walk a bit to get seated.  That was a really really great show. So as of now, no need for the scooters in the grocery store.  Yeah!

Have been doing a little quilting project.  Making Nook or Kindle book holders.  They look like little purses and are cute.  It took me a couple of days just to figure out the directions, but I perservered and finally have it all figured out. My next dilemma was how to pput the magnetic snaps on and could not decipher the directions. I went to Stitching Traditions and they showed me how they worked.  Very easy and no sewing to put them on.

Denny has tied up my studio for a few days building a cabinet for the new room.  I’m really  wondering if it will fit through the door to get it in here.  I will be able to put a lot of stuff in it.

We had sad news yesterday.  A good friend of ours passed away, Bob Campbell.  He had been dealing with very serious heart issues for several months.  They will have a memorial for him this summer in La Veta, so at least we are not missing yet another funeral. He and his wife Cathy live in Arizona in the winter so we would see them in both places.

Still grinding my teeth I think.  Stomach is still kind of a mess.  My emotions feel better though.

We went to a Cruise Holiday meeting tonight to meet with the group that is going on the cruise in January.  We are assistants to Dick and Judy.  Really looking forward to seeing Hawaii for the first time. We are still trying to decide when to head south.  Now our plan is to take the motorhome to Naco toward the end of the month.  Hang out there for a few days and then head to Phoenix on the 1st.  We hope we can leave the rv in the overflow area so it won’t cost as much to leave it there. Hopefully we will be able to spend most of January down south.  We will be in Kansas most of February and then hopefully head back down there in March.  As always, those plans could change drastically in a second.

 

One Response to “Tidbits”

  1. Kathy 12/13/2012 at 6:04 pm #

    Bird – been missing your blogs – welcome back!! Glad things are calming down. Wishing Billie and Justin the best and hope she doesn’t have to go thru skin grafts. We went to Cirque de Soleil last Thursday night. One word – “wow”. They made everything look so easy. Only issue, I couldn’t hardly sleep that night – all the colors and movements and drapes kept popping up in my dreams. The performers on the trampoline, with the “shelves” and “walking” up the platform – just awesome. Sorry to hear you lost another friend. Blessings to Bob. Lastly, you and Denny will make excellent guide assistants!! Have a great time in Hawaii!!

Leave a Reply

