Grinding Teeth

4 Dec

Does anybody else out there have teeth grinding problems? I wake up everyday with sore gums and my mouth feeling funny.  I do have plans to get one of those mouth guards but first….I’m supposed to have 2 more crowns.  Let me talk about stress and our bodies.  Over the last 4 months we have been involved with our family and trying to help out. Thankfully we were able to do this since we don’t work fulltime and are free to travel.  This is all fine and dandy but what I forgot to do was to take care of myself. At my last 6 month check up at the dentist, my teeth were great and nothing drastic going on. Now 6 months later, I have this gross tooth and another  sensitive tooth which now need crowns.   When I am on overload, I drink way too much Pepsi, ice tea and my eating habits go haywire, eat too many chips and sometimes too many JuJubes.  That’s fine for a few days, but for several weeks it took it toll. I didn’t exercise except for the time we were in Florida and bicycled several times. My stomach got so out of whack I was taking a laxative at least once a week. I didn’t take care of my face and I had many breakouts. Mentally, I was manic most of the time with a few days of extreme fatigue. My feet began to get worse and became extemely painful.  I had a dog bit in my mouth and on my face and got hit in the head with a very heavy power drill. I slept in recliners and different beds and now have some of my back problems again. I didn’t take my vitamins or calcium. I stayed up way tooo late too many times.

This is not meant to sound like I’m whining, (what happened to my Whiny Wednesdays), it’s about how we let life around us take precedence over our own health.  My life has always been hectic but I am going to be 60 for havin’  sex. (that’s another story) When I was younger I could bounce back quickly. It’s meant to be a lesson for those who have emergencies in life that come up and how it is important to also take care of the caretaker.  Not only is it uncomfortable to not feel on top of your game but it is also expensive.  We all know how much crowns cost, even with insurance. I am now in physical therapy for my feet going 3 times a week for 5 weeks. We know how much that cost even with insurance. I already told you how much my migraine medicine was which I declined to buy. It’s been hard for Denny to keep an eye on me and not let me get tooooo depressed, sad or too busy.  It’s not that I couldn’t have taken better care of myself, I think I sometimes used it as an excuse to not take care of myself.  I was so glad to be able to be with my Mom, my niece and my daughter.  It was very fulfilling to be able to help where we were needed.  Denny  and I like mission work and this year our family was our mission.  But..I know next time something arrises, I will really try to not let my health get out of hand. Also, some of you may know this, but I am a borderline hypochondriac, (maybe I’ve written this before), I’m also trying to think that some of the things I have going on are not- #1. I am going to have to have all my teeth pulled and wear false teeth, #2. That the stomach problems are not some kind of cancer or ulcers, #3. That my teeth hurt because of an ongoing infection that I’m not aware of from dogbite, #4. That my teeth hurt because I have bleeding brain from the drill hitting my head, #5. That I’m not having heart problems, #6. That all my joints that hurt isn’t early onset of some dreaded disease instead of just having achy joints.

Now with all that said, I shall continue with my day.  We may have the mustang sold but it is going to a mechanic to be checked over.  Hopefully it is a healty check up.  I’ve been making a set of curtains for the rv and I’m hoping I don’t have to rip out what I made last night.  I think I can salvage but we’ll see. Once again working on my studio which is one of those chores that I can only do for about an hour since it is still at that overwhelming stage.

2 Responses to “Grinding Teeth”

  1. Marsha Torgeson 12/04/2012 at 9:02 am #

    Totally Understand Jay. Once you slow down from “extreme tasking” is when you start feeling your body collapse around you. Sounds like your “on task” taking care of you, now.

  2. Dana Letson 12/06/2012 at 9:28 am #

    Dear J – you are having quite a time lately. Deep breaths, long walks, meditate – you can’t take care of others if you don’t take care of yourself. Because you asked, yes I grind my teeth and wear a night guard. My new periodontist says my current one doesn’t fit right and I need a new one. I think I paid $400 or $500 the last two times. This lady wants $2600! crazy. Just going to have to live with my old one. Since my teeth seem to be shifting it doesn’t make sense to spend that kind of money and have to start over again in a year or two. I finally retired and am living life in the slow lane again – no more commuting – YEA. Take care

Leave a Reply

