Sometimes it’s seems petty to blog when there are many tragedies going on

10 Nov

I just finished reading the paper and of course there is the Patreaus affair, a disabled lady raped on a city bus, a 17 year old girl who lost both parents in Hurricane Sandy when a tree crashed on their truck. She is now trying to take care of her 3 brothers and sisters. It goes on and on.  I remember when I used to go to a therapist, which I did off and on for many years, she would say I had existentialism anxiety.  At one point in my life I would join everything group that was trying to save the world. (Have I convinced you yet that I am seriously nuts yet after just a couple of months of blogging?) I would volunteer, donate, send money, just to ease my anxiety.  I am not quite as anxious but still can get wound up.  I’ve now been able to know what I can do and can’t and thankfully have been able to lead a few mission trips to disasters and do what I can the rest of the time.

So back to trivial things.  Denny and I are truly enjoying our trip.  Playing golf at Kenny Perry’s Country Creek GC has been on our list for a few years. To finally make it there was great. It is truly made out of farm country, lots of hills, trees and several barns on the property.  A very friendly pro shop which I always like.  We were talking to Gene, the pro shop guy and was told that Kenny does come there a lot but that morning he had a grandaughter born. After purchasing a couple of hats and then picking out some things for my golf tourney, he actually donated some autographed hats and golf ball.  How frickin’ cool is that!!!! Denny actually played well, me so so, but it didn’t matter because it was a beautiful fall day for golf. Next we headed for dinner at the Longhorn Steakhouse where I had the best ribeye and sweet potato. Lots of times I’m disappointed with restaurant steaks, but this one was so tender and juicy and I so wished I could have picked it up and gnawed on the bone. (I did this once while eating out and Denny still hasn’t forgiven me). Then we decided to call it a day and found a room at Holiday Inn Express in Franklin, KY.  I love Holiday Inn Express. They have big rooms and beds.

I have had a strange year of premonitions.  I think of something and then it happens, or I see the person, or I hear the song, etc.  Yesterday Denny and I were talking about a possiblity that we fantasize for our future.  I couldn’t believe it that the person who we would talk to about it called!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That deserves all of those exclamations because we hadn’t even talked about for a long time and then he calls just minutes after we yakked about it.  We’ll see what comes of that premonition.

Denny seems like he wants me to get dressed and repacked so we can head on to our next stop.  We are going to Bryson City, NC to spend the night at Ed and Shirley’s, i.e. Scarecrow, which is on the southern edge of Great Smoky National Park. The have a big old Inn that they have refurbished.  Everytime we are with Scarecrow, something crazy happens, so we’ll see what happens this time. One time, he and I were in a golf cart and lost traction on a wet hill.  We were flying backward down the hill heading for impending death because there was a creek at the bottom of the hill. Somehow, he was able to finally stop the cart right before we crashed.  I can remember us both looking at each other like “Whew”!!!!!

Feet are feeling better.  Thank you Jesus.  I said a huge prayer yesterday to please not let this foot issue get the best of me.

3 Responses to “Sometimes it’s seems petty to blog when there are many tragedies going on”

  1. Vicki 11/10/2012 at 3:35 pm #

    Tell Scarecrow hi from me (if he remembers me)? Turns out Scarecrow is Ron’s first cousin, Susie and Eric’s uncle! I tried to get a family discount, but it didn’t work………. I love reading your blogs BTW!!!

    • Vicki 11/10/2012 at 10:35 pm #

      ACTUALLY now that I think about it…….Susan/Susie is from Eskirdge and if you have ever ate at that little restaurant in Eskridge and ate one of Izzy’s pies………that would be Ron’s aunt! She is a hoot!!!!

  2. Billie 11/11/2012 at 8:20 am #

    Always remember that I am a constant disaster so you can focus all of your anxieties about the world on me 🙂

Leave a Reply

