Back at Lake Wabaunsee

1 Nov

We arrived home around 7 pm last night.  Thankfully we only had to unpack a few things.  Today will be the big unload the motorhome day. Actually we are going to really clear it out and begin preparing for our 5 months in Arizona.  There is a lot of crap that has been accumulated in the rv that is really not needed.

Today we’ll drive over and pick up the yellow VW Bug that Peggy drove out for us.  Can’t wait to see it and drive it.  It will be my 3rd VW.  My first was during my first marriage.  We had a VW bus which I still wish I had!  My other one was an orange VW convertible.  It was a cool little car but gave me a few problems.  It had a hole in the floor board in the back seat.  I remember driving to Lake Stockton to see my parents.  When I arrived my Dad came out and started hollering about my battery hanging out and he thought the kids would fall through the hole.  He fixed that for me.  Another time the kids and I  were driving home from Missouri. It was one of those extremly windy days and it was difficult to keep the car on the road.  I looked in the back seat and the kids were messing around and I saw that the back window, which was glass, had blown out!! We turned around and I looked and looked for it.  I was so mad at the kids I thought I was going to have a cow.  Never did find the window..  My last VW story.  We left my parents, still in Lake Stockton after Thanksgiving, a little early, due to a snowstorm coming in.  We made it as far as Iola before we had to pullover.  If you haven’t had a VW, you need to keep up the speed to keep the heat coming out to be warm. (at least that was what the “76 year was like) We stopped at a motel for the night.  When we woke up in the morning, my little bug was frozen solid.  There was a sheet of ice over the entire car.  Couldn’t even open the door to begin thawing it out.  We spent the day there trying to figure out what we could do.  The motel was being a real jerk and wouldn’t let me pay by check so we could stay in the room.  Finally I was able to get hold of a gas station that had a giant heat fan.  They came and towed it for me and put it in their garage to thaw out.  Finally we were able to head home. Unfortunately the roads were snowpacked and we had to drive really slow, so..we were freezing all the way.  And I just bought another VW why????????????? This one is a 1999, so maybe the heating system has improved.

Meeko and Jumper are groomed, smell better, and are happy to be home and have their backyard.  Part of our fence blew down while we were away.  Apparently, we had some strong winds.

Time to start unloading, which is the least fun of motorhoming.

Did see my mom actually walking on her own yesterday morning.  What a wonderful sight.  We think she will be going home the week of Nov. 12.  What a great job that rehab facility did for my mom.

3 Responses to “Back at Lake Wabaunsee”

  1. Kathy 11/01/2012 at 9:35 am #

    Welcome home!! Yes, it was a great photo of your Mom standing there all healed up! So great that you and your sisters insisted on surgery – as that wasn’t the doctors first recommendation. She is blessed to have you watching out for you!

    On the VW, that was a good question: why?? 🙂

    PS. I’m glad AZ is still coming up, was kinda afraid that you decided you liked FL so much that you’d just head back there instead!!

  2. Emily 11/01/2012 at 11:31 am #

    I HATE unpacking the motorhome after a trip, yes the least liked thing about traveling. Glad you are home, isn’t it a wierd feeling though after being gone so long?

    • jbirdworldblog 11/01/2012 at 4:44 pm #

      It does feel weird. Like what do you do next. I hope to stay focused on the motorhome for the next day. It kills my feet walking back and forth but hopefully I can get done tomorrow and not have to deal with it.

Leave a Reply

