I don’t get it

26 Oct

In a TV interview this summer, Akin explained why he does not believe abortion should be legal in cases of rape. The congressman claimed, “If it’s a legitimate rape, the female body has ways to try to shut that whole thing down.”

Just this week, Indiana Sen. Richard Mourdock also came under for fire for saying that, “Even when life begins in that horrible situation of rape, that it is something that God intended to happen.”

Those were 2 exerpts from articles in the last couple of months.

I don’t get that men like this are actually elected and make decisions for our country. I was a 18, in my first month of junior college, and was raped. After it happened, I ran barefoot through the hedgerows for 2 miles so he couldn’t find me. I got back to my little apartment. I had blood running down my legs, my back was scratched from being drug along the gravel, my feet and toes were torn from being barefoot. I went to the doctor the next morning and he gave me pills so I wouldn’t get pregnant. Do you really think that God intended for this to happen and that he would have wanted me to get pregnant after this happened???????? What scares me is that I feel there are many people who may feel like Akin and Mourdock but don’t say it.

Is this a scary post for me to hit publish? My heart is racing, I’m 2nd guessing. But…maybe it will make 1 person understand that rape is a horrible act. It changed my direction of life. It changed my decisions. It changed the type of person I was. My mind goes into overload when I hear these comments from these  men.  Women must have the choice to end a pregnancy, not be told that they cannot end it. That is my view. I respect my friends who are pro-life and I respect my friends who are pro-choice.  I am pro-choice.

4 Responses to “I don’t get it”

  1. Emily 10/26/2012 at 9:57 am #

    J,
    Both of these men have made really stupid, disgusting comments. The fact that they are in public office is rather disturbing, but I don’t think this is how the general population thinks as a whole. I know it is not how I feel about the situation. Kiddos to you for posting this, I know it was not an easy blog to post. By the way, I am loving your posts on 25 things we didn’t know about you. Keep it up!!!

  2. Kathy 10/26/2012 at 11:10 am #

    Bird – I’m so very, very sorry you were raped when you were younger. Cannot imagine the pain you went thru (then and all thru your life). Can’t believe those two idiots & politicians actually would think and say such a thing – it is a disgrace. And, I agree with Emily – the general population does not agree wtih them (and I would venture to say a vast, vast minority do.) The God I believe in is a good God and I don’t believe God punishes people. Instead I believe that there are idiots in the world who don’t know right from wrong. The God that these two fools talk about, is a different God than my belief. Kuddos to you for sharing! You are woman – hear you roar!!

  3. Judy Knoll 10/26/2012 at 6:56 pm #

    Count me in with the pro choicers and ditto the previous posts. Nothing more to add, but want you to know there’s a bunch of us out there!

    • Mitzi Keairns 10/27/2012 at 8:36 pm #

      Very brave of you to share that horrific story. I wish one of those idiots would read it and think about how he would feel it was their daughter??? I am so glad that you had an option and did not have to go through a pregnancy. Even though Don and I were both adopted and there is a chance that neither of us would be here if our birth mother’s had a safe choice back all those years ago, I will always be pro choice. No one should have the right to dictate to a woman what she has to do with her body. My little tatto is not just a passing thing for me, It is something that I truly believe. By the way, the phrase “legitimate rape” makes my blood boil!

Leave a Reply

