Dog Bit

23 Sep

My day started out dramatically.  I needed to be at the Manor with Mom at 10.  We had a day planned of painting nails and paying bills, etc. Before I left, I walked Meeko and Jumper.  Meeko hasn’t been feeling well the last couple of days.  He’s actually needed a little help getting into the rv.  As I picked him up, apparently I touched a sore spot.  He screeched and turned and bit my face and the inside of my mouth.  I screeched and started crying. It hurt so bad and there was blood and I was envisioning my lip hanging by a thread.  Thankfully, it wasn’t that awful, but it was still painful.  I put Meeko in the rv and called Denny sobbing.  It was such a shock and for some reason it started me on a crying jag that lasted for a couple of hours.  I found an Urgent Care.  Luckily it wasn’t too busy and I was out of there in about 1 1/2 hours.  They gave me a tetanus, diptheria shot, cleaned my face up and gave me a scrip for antibiotics.  Have to take 4 a day for 10 days.  After I was done, I came back and picked Meeko up and took him to an Emergency Care animal hospital.  After poking and prodding, he really started crying when they touched his neck. He has a displaced disk which is probably hitting a nerve.  They gave him a cortisone shot and sent him home with predinsone and pain pills. (No, I will not take his pain pills for those of you who may be suspicious).  It was a long day of driving back and forth.  I was able to see Mom and let her know what was going on and she understood when I told her I wouldn’t be able to visit her tonight.  Meeko seems to feel a little better.  He has to rest for 3 weeks to let things heal.  The inside of my mouth has a puncture wound that is sore and my cheek has some steri strips on it.  I think I will live.

My Mom said, “well, you have a good story for your new blog!”.

 

3 Responses to “Dog Bit”

  1. ruth 09/23/2012 at 9:40 pm #

    oh no J !!! so sorry that happened. Do you think Meeko has been dealing with this for a while ?? Mama (one of Sherry’s kitties) drew blood on me today; but nothing comparable. Hope you heal quickly. I know what it is like to have an injury inside your mouth (had a busted lip once) and it is extremely painful. Makes everything hard to do, from talking to eating, etc No whistleing for a while … lol

  2. Billie 09/23/2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Hope you are feeling better now. Love you.

    • annette walker 09/24/2012 at 6:37 am #

      OMG, Here’s to healing for both of you!

Leave a Reply

